MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Memory upgraded but........
August 19, 2019, 07:26:42 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 19, 2019, 07:26:42 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Memory upgraded but........  (Read 1110 times)
Taz Eats Cookies
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 112


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 21, 2005, 04:11:21 PM »

Hello there,

i have just upgraded the memory in my pc from 256 to 768 by adding a 512 stick of memory yet when i check my pc with belarc advisor it says that i have only got 512 running can any one please help me with getting it to run with both and get the speedy 768 out of my machine.

Many thanks

TAZ:-X
Logged

Martin.J.
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2005, 11:10:17 PM »

Please provide some information about your computer.
Motherboard make/model?
Type of memory ?

Does your system support 512 in a single module and what is the total your board will support?

Right click My Computer click Properties, on the General tab how much memory does it say your have?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Taz Eats Cookies
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 112


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2005, 05:18:04 PM »

Sorry,

My motherboard is asus A7N266-C,

the memory that i have got in is 256 ddr and the recently added 512 ddr.

The motherboard will support upto 1.5 of memory i have read the booklet that comes with the pc and it says i have to put biggest memory stick into slot one there are 3 slots available.

i have 512 in the first slot and the 256 in slot 2.
Logged

Martin.J.
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2005, 08:36:37 PM »

What type of memory is it, PC2100 or PC1600 ? Are they both 133MHz DDR SDRAM or are they 100 MHz DDR DRAM?
When you place the 512 in DIMM1 and nothing in DIMM2 or DIMM3 does it read 512?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Taz Eats Cookies
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 112


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2005, 04:03:11 PM »

Sorry Geek Girl,

The memory that is in is pc2100 266mhz when i opened up the tower i thought i should try and swap the slot in which the 256 stick is in and hey presto i have now got 768 of memory i guess the slot must be faulty.

But many thanks for your help anyhow.

Cheers
Logged

Martin.J.
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2005, 09:55:49 PM »

I'm happy you resolved your issue. Sorry you have a faulty memory slot.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page May 16, 2017, 01:25:07 PM