MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: boot problem
October 20, 2019, 01:31:11 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 20, 2019, 01:31:11 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: boot problem  (Read 936 times)
hdbroke
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 01, 2005, 10:49:22 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



windows me Dell pentium3 1ghz
I really dont know if this is a hardware or software problem but here goes.My hard drive crashed and i installed anew seagate 80gig using seagates software and then reinstalled win-me.when i restart the comp.i get a message:invalid boot disk,insert boot disk in a:
I called Seagate and they suggested i erase and reformat using fdisk which i did and then reinstalled win-me again,same problem.My bios setup is cd1 hd2 and floppy last.I disabled floppy and tried a different floppy ribbon. The o/s is there but no matter what i do the only way i can get to it is with the windows cd in the drive it will boot me to the hard drive,otherwise i get the boot disk a: msg
Logged

 
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2005, 01:57:50 PM »

booting from the Recovery disk, I assue you get a DOS prompt?
if so, try this

at the prompt type

SYS C:

remove teh cd and reboot - see if that works

If the CD doesn't give you a DOS prompt, do you have a Boot floppy? - do the same from the A:> prompt after booting from that.
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
hdbroke
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2005, 05:17:50 PM »

Tried that both times i reinstalled windows,made no diff.
Logged

 
only1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2005, 06:57:06 PM »

Have you tried making the HD the first boot device?

Did you use the fdisk/mbr command before formatting?
Logged

 
hdbroke
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2005, 08:14:59 PM »

Yes itried hd first boot device and fdisk/mbr did not help,same problem.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 06, 2016, 04:34:59 AM