MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: frequency over range
April 05, 2020, 10:16:46 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 05, 2020, 10:16:46 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: frequency over range  (Read 1450 times)
bluebird
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 30


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 09, 2005, 03:38:00 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Win ME
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Emachines 700id
Error Messages: frequency over range
This message appears at startup. at first it appears the pc will boot up. it's shows the bios or all those #'s & characters on screen starting to load, then the windows logo appears & then the screen goes blank, as if the pc shut of, but it hasn't., you can hear it running & see the light in front panel flashing..then after a minute or so, even that stops but the light stays on. first time it happend i shut down & restarted...a message at the bottom of the screen said "returning to windows" then the same senario happened. The pc will not stay on. I don't know what the message means. Is it dead?




Logged

bb
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2005, 01:45:45 PM »

The frequency message comes from the monitor and has nothing to do with Windows. It means that the video mode is being switched and the VGA signal is not valid at the moment.

Can you boot into Safe Mode? (by tapping the F8 key at boot)

Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
bluebird
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 30


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2005, 11:32:50 PM »

Hi GK. Thank you for responding! I was able to boot into safe mode but scan disk came on for improper shut down & the pc locked up. I shut it off & restarted in safe mode. I tried to do a restore point but that did not help. The monitor is shared by my XP & ME pc. XP side is fine.
My grandaughter said the last game she played was a game called sonic & knuckles.
« Last Edit: November 10, 2005, 01:13:43 AM by bluebird » Logged

bb
bluebird
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 30


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2005, 02:40:57 AM »

Hello again, Gk. Safe mode allowed me to fix most of the res problem.
I found that under display/settings/advanced/performance, you can drag the slider all the way to the left & then "ok" your way back to the main panel, restart & then go back to control panel & reset the res to 800x600. I did that but the color still seems a bit off. should I be using 256, high 16 bit, or true 24 bit?
« Last Edit: November 10, 2005, 03:18:09 AM by bluebird » Logged

bb
bluebird
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 30


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 15, 2005, 06:18:48 AM »

Hello again GK...thanks for your help! i set my color to 16 bit high color and now everything is fine. we can close this thread. thanks again!
Logged

bb
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2005, 08:51:16 PM »

I apologize for the lack of response, I forgot to subscribe to this thread Sad

I'm glad you got your issue resolved. I will lock this topic, if you need it reopened please pm a moderator Grin
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 28, 2017, 11:53:32 PM