MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: hard drive
August 23, 2019, 11:31:14 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 23, 2019, 11:31:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: hard drive  (Read 3763 times)
rjh111271
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 66


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 05, 2003, 01:40:22 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:win98se
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:hard drive
Error Messages:


never get probs for ages then all at once    lol
i want to add another hard drive to my system. If i get a bigger drive, how do i go about transferring all my files on the old drive to the new one?
my drive at moment appears to be slower than it was. tried defraggin but no better
would it be better to install another drive as slave or replace altogether with bigger new drive....i want to keep all data on old drive
please assume i am a beginner lol
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2003, 02:06:17 PM »

Hi,

You will need a Windows Startup Disk

1. Temporally install the new drive as second drive (primary slave, if cdrom connected as primary slave disconnect it, connect the new drive, set the jumper on the new drive to slave)

2. Power on the system and make sure BIOS recognizes the drive. You may have to enter your BIOS setup (<DEL> on most systems) to Auto-Detect the hard drive if the port is not set to AUTO.

3. Then hit F8 right before the Windows logo screen to access the boot menu and select "Safe-Mode Command Prompt"

4. Type 'FDISK' <ENTER> (no quotes)
BE VERY CAREFULL WHAT YOU DO IN HERE!
You should now have option 5 to change which drive you're editing
Select the second drive.
Select option 1 to create a partition, make sure fdisk recognizes the full drive size.
Once the primary partition is created, exit fdisk by hitting <ESC> and reboot

5. Once in Windows, open "My Computer", you should now see the new drive, double click it to make sure you have the correct drive. You should get an error about not being able to read it. Then right click it, select "Format".

6. Important: Once the drive is formatted, reboot.

7. Once back in Windows, open an MS-DOS Prompt and copy the files over by typing 'xcopy c:\ d:\ /e/h/k/c' <ENTER> (no quotes) (Assuming the new drive is drive d:, substitute the drive letter if different) This will copy all files, sub-directories, hidden files and folder, keep the file attributes and continue on errors (when it hits the swap file). Once the copy is finished, make sure you have a Startup disk and shutdown.

8. Reverse the jumpers on both drives so the new drive is master and the old is slave. Reconnect your cdrom on the secondary IDE connector.
Please note: This combination of device connection is by all means not written in stone and will depend on what other IDE devices you have (e.g. cdrw, dvd, cdrom...)

9. Power on the system and make sure BIOS recognizes both drives. You may have to enter your BIOS setup (<DEL> on most systems) to Auto-Detect the hard drive if the port is not set to AUTO. Make sure the new drive is the primary master.

10. Boot off the startup disk and at the A: prompt type 'sys c:' <ENTER> (no quotes) and then 'fdisk /mbr' <ENTER> (no quotes), reboot

11. If all the files (excluding the swap file) were copied over correctly you should be able to boot up Windows correctly and have all your data!
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
rjh111271
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 66


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2003, 01:50:54 PM »

thankyou very much once again
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2003, 05:47:41 PM »

Hi,

Did this work out for you?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
rjh111271
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 66


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2003, 07:52:31 PM »

hi
i have copied the text and saved it as i intend to get another drive soon
thankyou again
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 01, 2003, 02:05:20 PM »

Let us know how it turns out!
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
rjh111271
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 66


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 25, 2003, 11:50:35 PM »

have finally done it
fitted 80Gig hdd and followed your instructions having 1st partitioned the drive into 4 blocks
all seemed to work ok but when i disconnect old hdd and reboot all i get is C: prompt
forgive me if the answer is obvious    lol
do i need to install win98se on new hdd?
thought that would be done when i transferred all my data
also
i plan to use both xp and 98se on new hdd
could u please tell me how to do this?
thanx again
Rab
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 26, 2003, 01:20:03 PM »

Hi,

I am assuming all the files were transfered from the old drive to the new drive successfully. Try this:

At the C: prompt type 'edit msdos.sys' <ENTER> (no quotes)
This file should contain many lines, if only one line of text, replace this file with the one below.

1. copy MSDOS.SYS to a floppy (from below)
2. bring it to your system
3. at the C: prompt, type 'attrib -s -h -r c:\msdos.sys' <ENTER> (no quotes)
4. Type 'copy a:\msdos.sys c:\' <ENTER> (no quotes)
5. Type 'attrib +s +h +r c:\msdos.sys' <ENTER> (no quotes)
6. reboot

Download Attachment: MSDOS.ZIP 2.1
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
rjh111271
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 66


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: June 26, 2003, 03:09:23 PM »

still have old hdd fitted as C
new hdd is partitioned to d,e,f,g
transferred to e from c(old hdd)
i assume i replace where u have above 'c:\' i replace with 'e:\'
just making sure
thankyou

Rab
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2003, 03:52:12 PM »

Hi,

I thought the old drive was removed and you were booting off the new drive!

Therefore, forget what I said above and either remove the old drive or if you intend to keep it in the system set the drives as...

New drive: primary master
Old drive: primary slave

This means if both drives are on the same ribbon cable (primary) then change the jumpers on both drives so that the new drive is the master and the old the slave.

The you will boot off the new drive.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
rjh111271
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 66


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: June 26, 2003, 09:08:00 PM »

have tried removing old hdd altogether but new hdd wont boot
just get C: prompt  in dos
something i need to change in BIOS?
or do i need to install windows on new hdd?
i assumed windows os would transfer with data

thanx

Rab
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: June 27, 2003, 11:50:53 AM »

Hi,

If the hard drive parameters in the BIOS are set to AUTO then there is nothing else to change.

Make sure your new drive is the primary master
Boot off a Windows Startup Disk and run FDISK
Use option 4 to view the partitions and make sure the C: drive is indeed your new drive. Within this option, also make sure the C: drive is an active partition. If not, use option 2 from the main menu.

If Windows still doesn't start, copy the MSDOS.SYS file from above to the new C: drive as explained above.

Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
rjh111271
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 66


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: June 27, 2003, 07:12:31 PM »

yippppeeeeeeeeee
now i'm gettin somewhere
just avtivated partition on new hdd, removed ald hdd, set new hdd to master and booted
only prob was on start up got message
Cannot find a device that may be needed to run Windows or Windows application
Windows registry os SYSTEM.INI file refers to this device file but device file no longer exists
If you deleted this file on purpose, try uninstalling the associated application using its uninstall or setup program
If you still want to use the application associated with this device file try reinstalling that application to replace the missing file
C:\PROGRA~1\NORTON~1\NAVAP.VXD
Press any key to continue
pressed a key
Cannot find a device that may be needed to run Windows or Windows application
Windows registry os SYSTEM.INI file refers to this device file but device file no longer exists
If you deleted this file on purpose, try uninstalling the associated application using its uninstall or setup program
If you still want to use the application associated with this device file try reinstalling that application to replace the missing file
C:\PROGRA~1\SYMANTEC\SYMWVNT.386
Press any key to continue

pressed a key

Windows loaded up ok

Can i locate these files on old hdd and copy them across?

THANKYOU

Rab
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: June 27, 2003, 07:39:11 PM »

Hi,

That's great! Grin

If you put the old hard drive as a slave drive to boot off the new drive you should be able to copy these files.

Most likely they were in use when you copied them over but if you boot off the new hard drive they will not be in use and therefore copy over.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
rjh111271
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 66


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: June 27, 2003, 07:57:11 PM »

GGGGGGGrrrrrrrrrr8
ok next prob lol
have just partitioned new hdd as i want it in paragon partition manager 2000
C .primary. old hdd contents as copied over inc. win98se
D .primary. 12.5 gig which i was goin 2 use for xp install and dual boot
E .extended partition which included......
F .logical drive (for games)
G .logical drive (for new programs etc)
H .logical drive (for isolated items e.g. roxio easy cd creator, kazaa etc}
wouldnt boot until i deleted all but 1st primary(C) in fdisk

Give yourself a GR8 big pat on the back for gettin me this far
Shocked)
learnin all the time

Thanx

Rab
Logged

 
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 06, 2016, 12:20:49 PM