MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: help!!!
April 05, 2020, 05:42:20 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 05, 2020, 05:42:20 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: help!!!  (Read 1290 times)
CanadianChris
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 26, 2005, 06:44:23 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:ME
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



all i can say is that i am using Windows ME, trrying to fix my brothers computer.  Here's the problem can't use any programs. Keep getting error message as follows "Windows can't access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permission to access them." please tell me what this means and how to fix it.

Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2005, 08:06:57 PM »

While the pc is booted place the WinME cd in the cdrom and install overtop existing o.s.

Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2005, 09:18:13 PM »

DO NOT reinstall ME over itself!! - this WILL screw IE if you have EI6 installed!!

Instead - try using a System Restore back to a time before the rpoblem first occurred (but ONLY if less than a week ago - post back if longer)

If you can't start System Restore in the normal manner - try this method
http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=279736
Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2005, 11:13:38 PM »

Obvioulsy NOEL has his reasons for his reply.
You can try to use MSCONFIG.EXE to extract a new copy of RUNDLL32.EXE from your WindowsME CD or the Windows Setup (CAB) files on the hard drive, then restart the system.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
CanadianChris
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2005, 03:06:05 PM »

tried all that still nothing. let me ask this, they have there tower sitting on the floor, could too much dust and pet hair be causing it to overheat and act up like this
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2005, 03:11:45 PM »

Most definately will hair and dust cause overheating !!! Open the case and use some canned air to blow out the dust and the fans. But I dont think this is causing the issue
« Last Edit: December 06, 2005, 03:12:39 PM by Geekgirl » Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
NoelMVP
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +1/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 221


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2005, 03:20:27 PM »

I wonder......

Boot the system winth an ME floppy (use the Without CD Support option) - type the following at the A:\> prompt

FDISK   /STATUS

hit the Enter Key - what is displayed as the state of your drives/partitions??


ALSO - while in DOS, look for the following files and delete them

C:\Win386.SWP
C:\Windows\Win386.SWP
(one or the other may not be present - don't worry if you get a file not found error!)
the command to use is DEL C:\WIN386.SWP ......etc.


Logged

Noel Paton
(MS - MVP, Windows, 2002-2006)

Nil Carborundum Illegitemi
www.crashfixpc.com
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 04, 2016, 11:00:41 PM