MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: System not recognizing all RAM
November 18, 2019, 02:49:41 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 18, 2019, 02:49:41 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: System not recognizing all RAM  (Read 2885 times)
mikeymorehead
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 05, 2003, 10:38:33 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows XP Pro
Problem Application Name & Version:PC 133 RAM
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



I have a PIII 900Mhz Blaster PC. I used to have only 128Mb PC 133 RAM but have recently bought an additional 256Mb PC 133. When I installed it at first my system did not recognize it at all. After moving it and the other 128Mb stick around it finally recognized that I have 256 Mb but not 384Mb. My 256Mb is double sided but my 128Mb is not. What can I do?
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2003, 03:19:14 PM »

Hi,

Check your motherboard manual for supported modules and what slots to use. See if double sided memory is supported and if you have to skip a bank for the following memory.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
mikeymorehead
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2003, 05:59:15 AM »

How do you tell if it is double-sided?
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2003, 01:15:33 PM »

Hi,

Didn't you say in your first post that the 256mb was double sided?

Double sided means that there are chips on both sides of the memory module.

Sometime memory modules from different manufacturers or single/double sided don't always work correctly together, timing issues. The best thing to do is bring the memory back and exchange it for a different manufacturer module to see if that solves it.

or

Give me the make and model of your motherboard and I will check to see if I can find out what the board supports.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
mikeymorehead
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2003, 04:34:31 PM »

No the 256 is single-sided and the 128 is double-sided. The 128 worked fine when I put the 256 in with it my system only recognizes 256Mb of RAM.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2003, 04:40:15 PM »

Hi,

Does the system see 256mb when you put the 256mb alone in the system?

On some system you used to have to skip a slot but in this case I do not know because you haven't told me the make and model of your motherboard.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
mikeymorehead
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2003, 01:28:51 AM »

motherboard is a creative labs M003 from the Blaster PC by Empac. I have attached the specs. on the memory configuration to this reply.Huh?  


Download Attachment: Memory configuration Moo3.doc 22.51 KB
Right click and select Save Target As... then rename the file as shown here and save.
« Last Edit: March 13, 2003, 02:00:11 AM by mikeymorehead » Logged

 
mikeymorehead
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2003, 02:14:20 AM »

I took out the double-sided 128MB RAM and left only the single-sided 256MB RAM and the system only recognized 128MB. If I put the 128MB strip in with it in any other location it still only reads 256MB instead of 384MB.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2003, 02:40:06 PM »

Hi,

If the system only recognizes 128mb when the 256mb DIMM is installed alone, I would try another 256mb DIMM from another manufacturer.

Bring it back to where you purchased it from and get another brand or bring your whole system in and get them to try different brands until one works.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
mikeymorehead
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2003, 06:19:58 PM »

Hi,
OK thanks I do appreciate your help.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 14, 2019, 11:54:26 AM