MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Wireless Devices Problems arrow Topic: Aquiring Network Address problems
December 08, 2019, 10:26:27 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 08, 2019, 10:26:27 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Aquiring Network Address problems  (Read 2979 times)
gtoman
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: December 21, 2005, 06:02:32 PM »

I have a wireless network with a linksys wrt54g router. my base station is running xp home and so is my wireless Toshiba laptop and my daughters wireless Compaq laptop. i went to the linksys Wirless-G broadband router website (192.168.1.1) and set up WPA-TKIP Personal encryption and assigned it a 12 digit WPA Shared Key.
My daughters new Compaq laptop works fine with these settings but my Toshiba laptop, in the "Choose a Wireless Network" program box says "Aquiring network address". it shows IP address 0.0.0.0 : Subnet Mask 0.0.0.0 : Assigned by DHCP : IPv6 Enabled : Access Point : Network:(my network name) : Encryption Disabled (why disabled when set to WPA-TKIP?-Is this a problem?) and Signal Strength Excellent.
How can I get the Toshiba to get an IP Address and all the other settings to work in encryption?
I also found my neighbors wireless network name shown in the "Choose a wireless Network" dialog box so when my network is set to "Disabled" for encryption they can see everything we have on our pc's if they want to. NOT GOOD!!
Thanks,Jim
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2006, 12:47:44 AM »

Why didnt you use WEP instead, are you that concerned about security?
If you run a network with only the default security, where WEP is turned off, any of your neighbors can immediately log on to your network and use your Internet connection. Disable SSID Broadcast and your neighbor wont even know your on a wireless network.   Roll Eyes
 
If you can see your neighbors network name in your choices he obviously doesnt have SSID disabled.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 20, 2018, 09:59:28 PM