MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: How to change language without formatting
July 02, 2020, 09:03:35 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 02, 2020, 09:03:35 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: How to change language without formatting  (Read 2733 times)
tropical
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 32


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 02, 2006, 09:40:19 PM »

Here the story I put a new Maxtor Hdd on my sister's  pc Compaq Pressario 5320ca with Windows XP Home Edition, installed SP2 and securities updates,, while installing "darn it" I put the language French (France), by mistake, not Canadian (French) as she would have wanted, its causing a mixup for her to use the keyborad, letters on keyboard in their default location do not become what they should e.g. t can become j or q may become b etc.I ve tried to revert back to Canadian (French) in Regional and Language in Control Panel, but after a short while it will revert back to France (French).Does anyone know if this can be fixed without having to reformat the drive. your input would be most welcome.
Logged

Many eyes are upon you
The FBI,CIA,Men in Black


Acer Aspire M5640 AM5640-E5500A Intel Desktop PC - Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4GHz, 3GB DDR2,

640GB SATA II, Blu-Ray/HD-DVD Player/DVDRW, ATI Radeon HD3650, TV Tuner, Gigabit, Vista

Home Premium

Toshiba Satellite P200 PSPB3C-AB708C
* Intel® Core™2 Duo processor T5250
(1.5GHz,667MHz FSB, L1 Cache 64KB/64KB, L2 Cache 2MB)
Vista Home Premium
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2006, 03:40:01 AM »

In my findings through Google, I learn that Windows XP is written in specific language versions, therefore one
cannot change it from one language version to another.  You'll need
to purchase a "Full Version" of Windows XP in the language version
you desire, reformat your drive and install it "clean".

Or if you have an available empty drive or partition, you can install
another "Full Version" of Windows XP in a different language version
and create a dual-boot configuration.

Read on.....http://groups.google.com/group/microsoft.public.windowsxp.setup_deployment/browse_thread/thread/b7a3246dc198edf1/05c69ef91bc9bb7d?lnk=st&q=how+to+change+language+without+reformatting&rnum=2&hl=en#05c69ef91bc9bb7d
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 04, 2017, 11:21:25 PM