MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Networking Problems arrow Topic: CPU Overladed by wireless card
June 07, 2020, 03:45:03 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 07, 2020, 03:45:03 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: CPU Overladed by wireless card  (Read 2742 times)
Didge
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 14, 2006, 10:55:50 AM »

Huh?
Hi All,

I have a D-link DWL-G510 wireless card installed in my PC.
For sometime I have happily been sharing the ADSL one the PC with a laptop through this card.
Recently We got a second laptop and I splashed out on a woreless router so I didn't have to have the PC on all the time.
Now the router is all set up and running my PC seems to be unhappy.
The CPU runs at 80-100% when I enable the card, with the card disabled all is fine.

Any ideas what could be causing this upset??

Oh, I'm running Win XP Pro, SP2...

Damien
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2006, 03:29:54 PM »

Hello and Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca

What kind of things are happening with the card enabled? Have your tried updating the drivers? Do you have the settings set up correctly?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Didge
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2006, 11:01:58 PM »

The driver is up to date, nothing shows up in the event viewer and I'm pretty sure all the settings are correct.
When the card is enabled the CPU runs at around 80 - 100% constantly. As soon as I disable thye card it drops down to it's usual ~5%.
Logged
Didge
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2006, 11:33:58 PM »

ANY suggestions would be much appreciated
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2006, 08:39:57 PM »

Who is your ISP? They offer wireless internet via a modem? I dont understand how you used the wireless adapter card installed on your desktop computer for your laptop also.
Most modems are wired then you purchase a router and connect your other systems to the router.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Didge
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2006, 10:52:30 PM »

Originally I had a wired ADSL modem on my PC, with a wireless PCI card sharing (ICS) the ADSL with the laptop. Now that I have switched to a router the wireless card in the PC is playing up.
I have reinstalled the card - No change
I have reset Zonealarm - No change
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: March 29, 2006, 01:26:50 PM »

Any yellow ? in Device Manager
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Didge
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2006, 09:04:18 AM »

Undecided   Nope, No yellow ?
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2006, 11:28:09 AM »

Please exaplin how it is acting up. Have you tried a different wireless card/reseated it?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page December 31, 2018, 02:53:36 AM