MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Networking Problems arrow Topic: network sharing problem
June 02, 2020, 09:55:07 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 02, 2020, 09:55:07 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: network sharing problem  (Read 4912 times)
CrazyJo82
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 102


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 03, 2006, 04:54:01 AM »

I've looked through the tutorials but haven't found a solution.

I have 3 computers (2 desktop - i rarely use - and 1 laptop - wireless) and 1 printer. The 2 desktops are running WinXP pro sp2 while the laptop is WinXP home sp2. All the computers are connected to the Linksys WRT54G router. They all connect to internet just fine.

At this moment, the laptop cannot see desktop (since one is rarely used, all 'desktop' will refere to the one used often) but can see itself on the network while the desktop cannot see laptop and cannot see itself on network. Both computers are under "MSHOME" work group name and have 2 different name. I tried search on both computer and they cannot find each other.

I think my problems is in the Services. Should Computer Browse, Server, Workstation be set to Automatic or Manual? And are there are Services that should be turned on and not disabled?

Thanks.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2006, 04:42:18 PM »

Hi,

Computer Browse-Automatic
Server-Automatic
Workstation -Automatic

Click the following link, scroll to the bottom whre the services are listed, then click on the service to see it prefernces
http://www.theeldergeek.com/services_guide.htm

Hope this helped
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
CrazyJo82
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 102


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2006, 05:09:03 PM »

Thanks... just the type of webpage i needed!
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2006, 05:10:15 PM »

Hope it helps you resolve your issue, if not stop back for assistance  Grin
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
CrazyJo82
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 102


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2006, 05:50:38 PM »

must have celebrated too early...

i had set the server and workstation service to automatic... and i still can't see the laptop and neither can the laptop see the desktop. So that takes out the service problems.

File sharing and printing has been turned on on the desktop and I know it's the desktop that's the problem since i cannot see myself in the network place.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2006, 06:28:48 PM »

Considering your using a router, make sure there are no settings in your TCP/IP network properties. Make sure they are all in the same workgroup. Turn off any firewalls until you resolve the issue at hand.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
CrazyJo82
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 102


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2006, 06:33:34 PM »

tcp/ip is on automatic for obtaining ip and stuff... changed my desktop back to the default 'mshome' which is what the laptop is under and firewall in the computers are disabled.

would deleting tcp/ip and then let it reinstall itself work?
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2006, 06:40:25 PM »

All 3 should me mshome

I wouldnt delete tcp/ip just yet, hold off.......

Can you ping the other computers by ip and name? Are you successful?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
CrazyJo82
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 102


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2006, 06:43:25 PM »

yup, i can ping no problem by ip, as for by name, do you mean by \\servername? if so, then no.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2006, 06:53:11 PM »

To find the PC's Computer Name, click the Identification tab in the Network applet.

I have all 6 of my computers in the WORKGROUP, Im just wondering what the difference is between mshome and workgroup.
You did say all 3 computers have file and print sharing enabled correct? Can the 2 desktops see each other? 
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
CrazyJo82
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 102


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2006, 07:16:55 PM »

i think i found the issue...

There is a "NetworK ID" button in the Computer name and the "to use the network Identification Wizard..." should that button "Network ID" be there?

Also an interesting thing I found... while I cannot see myself in MSHOME, if I type "\\myname" I can see what I'm sharing but still cannot be seen from the laptop.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: May 07, 2006, 07:37:17 PM »

Do all the computers have a folder shared? I always share the whole C:\ drive while setting up the network, then I unshare the drive and share certain folders.
Yes the Network ID button should be there, but you shouldnt have to use it.




Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
CrazyJo82
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 102


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: May 07, 2006, 07:40:59 PM »

it's just the printer that i'm trying to share... there are some shared folders but it's just music and some documents.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2006, 07:45:31 PM »

Is the printer shared on the computer it is installed on? You need to have the printer shared on the comuter it is installed on then on the other computers go to Add/Printer through the network. Have you tried this? And this is where we are now? ......lol     
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
CrazyJo82
Sr. Member
****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 102


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2006, 07:54:23 PM »

Yes, I have enabled file sharing and printing and it is shared (the hand sharing thing icon). Yes, I did go to the other computer and the laptop and Add/Printer through network but if the other computer cannot see my computer, it would not be possible to even install through the network.

Even though the printer is the only thing I'm trying to share... the other computers can't see anything i'm sharing.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] 2 Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page October 19, 2017, 08:50:48 AM