MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Computer Related Discussions arrow General Discussions arrow Topic: How to add 2nd Hard Drive?
May 28, 2020, 10:09:35 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 28, 2020, 10:09:35 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: How to add 2nd Hard Drive?  (Read 1881 times)
cgm707
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 04, 2006, 12:55:09 AM »

I was wondering how difficult it is to add a 2nd hard drive to my computer?

My computer doesn't run that fast as it is, but I wanted a 2nd hard drive to store songs and pictures on, which are taking up a lot of memory.

Is there a place online that explains it well...or, if I am not sure what I am doing, is it worth it to pay the extra bucks and take it to a computer store?

Also, can someone recommend a hard drive brand that doesn't cost an arm & a leg?

Thanks very much for any help.

Chip
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2006, 05:08:51 PM »

Hi and welcome to the forum

Lets get some info about your system, eg. how much memory, what O.S. are you using, do you have IDE or SATA drive?
http://www.pctechguide.com/tutorials/HardDrive1.htm
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
cgm707
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2006, 07:30:52 PM »

I am having trouble locating that information.. Is this under System properties in Control Panel somewere?

Thanks
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2006, 07:41:44 PM »

Right click on My Computer, under the Genreal tab will give you your O.S. and how much memory you have installed.
Now as far as knowing if you have IDE or SATA it may tell you in Device Manager.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
cgm707
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2006, 02:11:03 AM »

Windows XP Home Edition, 512MB RAM.
I have IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers....of thats what you mean.

OS Name   Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Version   5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer   Microsoft Corporation
System Name   CHIPOTLE
System Manufacturer   System Manufacturer
System Model   System Name
System Type   X86-based PC
Processor   x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 1 AuthenticAMD ~1800 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date   Award Software, Inc. ASUS A7V8X-X ACPI BIOS Revision 1012, 7/22/2004
SMBIOS Version   2.3
Windows Directory   C:\WINDOWS
System Directory   C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device   \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale   United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer   Version = "5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)"
User Name   CHIPOTLE\Chiptopher Milligan
Time Zone   Pacific Standard Time
Total Physical Memory   512.00 MB
Available Physical Memory   234.26 MB
Total Virtual Memory   2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory   1.96 GB
Page File Space   1.22 GB
Page File   C:\pagefile.sys
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2006, 02:35:34 AM »

Well without being able to tell how many total drives you have installed I'll assume you have 1 hard drive and 1 cd-rom. Open the case and locate an area above or below the hard drive that you are going to install the second drive at. Look on the drive for a label that shows the jumper settings and make sure it is set to slave. Place the drive inside the location you have selected and install the screws. Connect the IDE cable (middle, the end is for the master hard drive) and a power connector. Tap the DEL key while booting and enter Setup, check to see the drive is reconized. If it is, ESC out and boot into Windows. You can format the drive within Windows.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 14, 2018, 11:32:38 AM