MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Overclocking, Cooling & Modding Problems arrow Topic: Computer moving really slow
July 23, 2018, 06:31:50 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 23, 2018, 06:31:50 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites: de.harddriveparts.com |
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Computer moving really slow  (Read 3729 times)
hostile982
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 18, 2006, 02:43:57 PM »

ive recently installed a new motherboard, cpu and a new video card into my computer. after the install i had problems booting up my computer and i get BSOD. i decided to reformat my hardrive and it fixed the problem but now my computer is moving extremly slow and i dont know what the reason behind it is. oh yea after i reformated my computer i somehow didnt lose any files on my hard drive, would that be the problem? or does it lie somewhere else. if more information is required please post. much help apreciated. thank you.

Motherboard: Asus p5rd1-vm
CPU: intel pentium D 2.66
Video card: Ati Radeon x800XL
RAM: 1 512 DDR PC3200
Logged
hostile982
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2006, 02:48:34 PM »

PS: just remembered sometimes at start up my computer says Failed to overclock something something..

sorry for some reason i couldnt edit
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2006, 01:49:14 AM »

Changing major hardware parts like that will cause the system to enter a reboot loop. At this point a Repair Install is almost inevitable if not a complete format and reinstall. It sounds as if you didnt format the partition and installed overtop the existing install thus your files and data were not lost.
After performing a Repair Install, the motherboard drivers should then be install, did you install these?

Im assuming you are running Windows XP?  Are you using a retail Version of Windows?

Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
hostile982
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2006, 08:10:39 PM »

i cant install the motherboard drivers because my computer either freezes up or just restart. yes im using windows XP retail version. A friend told me the problem could be i installed my CPU incorrectly and that i should go buy artic silver and a new cpu fan to fix my current problem.
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2006, 09:07:42 PM »

CPU's usually insert only one way, they also include (most) a heatsink & fan with thermal paste already applied.(Depending on how you purchased it)
If your using the existing heatsink/fan from the old processor yes you need to clean off the heatsink and reapply thermal paste. Let me know if you need further assistance
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
hostile982
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2006, 12:51:49 AM »

i tried to reformat my computer but it either restarts or freezes. i asked my friend before posting it and hes saying it might be a cpu overheat issue. can someone confirm this?
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2006, 08:05:16 PM »

Try clearing the CMOS. Locate the jumper on the motherboard, set it to clear, then replace to normal. This should have been done after the replacement of the mobo, cpu and video card.

Also, try another power supply, adding a better graphics card may need extra power, and yours is now not enough


Have you checked the psu yet to see if you have indeed inserted it improperly?
« Last Edit: July 24, 2006, 11:59:36 PM by Geekgirl » Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
BrideLide
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2018, 08:00:58 AM »

well I dont know about anyone else but its STILL doing it for me......and Im getting REALLY tired of it what the hell is the point of working on this site if its so damn slow?
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 06, 2018, 02:31:27 PM