MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Linux / Unix arrow Topic: Ubuntu Linux - Please help me
September 21, 2019, 05:49:32 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 21, 2019, 05:49:32 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: Ubuntu Linux - Please help me  (Read 6783 times)
danieldoylem
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 85


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 02, 2006, 09:27:00 PM »

I burned the ISO to disk and it will NOT install, but now every time i run a disk to install another Linux version i get the Ubuntu Linux startup utility from a disk that doesnt even contain this version.

How can i clear this so it loads the actual OS on the disk im running on boot.

Btw i have formatted the harddrive and reinstalled windows for now, yet the Ubuntu Linux still remains on the bootup.  Sad Sad
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2006, 12:44:22 AM »

When you installed Ubuntu, it over wrote your Master Boot Record (MBR) wich is sector 0 on your hard drive. If you had windows installed before you installed Ubuntu, you should of been able to dual boot (either into Ubuntu or Windows), Ubuntu being the default.

When your computer start to boot up, you should see Grub installed appear quickly on the screen (just after the bios screen). When you see the Grub installed message, hit the esc key. This should bring you to a menu allowing to select Ubuntu or Windows to boot.

Now you mentioned that you reinstalled windows. This should of overwirten your Master Boot Record (MBR) allowing you to boot into windows. I am suprised that you are not booting into windows.

Anyhow... Try hitting the esc key when you see Grub apearing on your screen... this should allow you to boot into windows.

Hope this helps.
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
danieldoylem
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 85


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2006, 12:59:15 AM »

Ok heres the problem, having failed to install Ubunto and really screwed my harddisk, i stuck in my WIn XP disk, deleted the linux partition and reformatted the whole thing, installed win Xp which is now my only installed OS.

BUT. I tried to run Debian GNU/Linux From disk, but it STILL tries to run from Ubunto when I run this disk, and Ubunto is full of errors on this machine so the setup doesnt even get far enough to cancel.

I just dont understand why its still regisrtered when i have completely reformatted and installed a new OS, and deleted any partitions.
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2006, 02:42:56 AM »

By formatting your entire hard drive and reinsatlling Windows XP, this should of gotten rid on Ubuntu and Debian. By reinstalling Windows XP should allow you to boot into XP.

If this is not the case... could you post the error that you are getting?
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
danieldoylem
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 85


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2006, 03:35:56 PM »

Nah i dont get any errors at all, i still want to install Debian but i cant.

1. I Tried to install Ubunti - it did not work - Something to do with "kernal panic"

2. I Put in my XP disk and reformatted and installed XP

3. Tried to run Debian from ISO on disk, but it STILL runs from Ubunto setup, no matter what i do.

Ubunto is STILL on my system in some way, and no reformat has gotten rid of it.

I tried to reformatted manually from a Floppy bootup but it would not let me get to C drive using " CD C:" it just defaulted back to A:

Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2006, 06:26:56 PM »

When you say you ran Debian from ISO on disk... do you mean a CD? or a hard drive?

Are you able to boot into windows XP?
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
danieldoylem
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 85


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2006, 06:33:20 PM »

Yeh XP is running fine on it, installed perfectly.

Erm the Debian thing, i stuck the ISO on disk thru some app, and ran it from boot (changed bios so CD rom started before IDE-0) And it was a minimal install version so i could download the rest of the features.

It wasnt a live CD, was meant to install onto the hard disk.
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2006, 07:00:17 PM »

OK... so Ubuntu is now longer on your system. If you are using an install cd ... and booting from the CD rom and Ubuntu is coming up... Then I would say that you have the wrong image on the CD.

Debian and Ubuntu are very similar... If Ubuntu gets a kernel panic on install there is  a good chance that Debian will as well.

I would redownload the iso image for Debian and reburn the iso to CD.
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
danieldoylem
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 85


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2006, 10:58:53 PM »

KK, is there a minimum spec in terms of processor, HD capacity and RAM.

Also, which version to download how can i find out if my processor is 64bit.
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2006, 04:17:41 PM »

Sorry for taking a bit to reply... been busy.

I would recommend that you download the i386. This way hear it will work no matter what. Also with the 64bit verion, there are certain things that don't work... such as flash.
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
danieldoylem
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 85


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2006, 04:23:09 PM »

Ok, im just wonderinf of the motherboard is too old, or it doesnt meet the minimum spec rerquirements (what are they?)

Also, ive stumbled on a problem, how can i create a linux partition becuase windows XP has gobbled up all the HD, and how much space do i need, as Linux cant resize an ntfs harddrive.
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2006, 10:38:17 PM »

This all depends what you want to do. If you just want a command prompt (bash)... then a 486 with 32 MB of RAM will do.

If you want to run a desktop system on an old machine maybe Puppy linux is more for you:

CPU : Pentium 166MMX
RAM : 128 MB physical RAM for releases since version 1.0.2 or failing that a Linux swap file and/or swap partition is required for all included applications to run; 64 MB for releases previous to 1.0.2
Hard Drive : None
CDROM : 20x and up


You could give xubuntu a try... it's a little lighter than ubuntu:

RAM: 196 MB
CPU: PII 300 MHz


As for resizing your partition... If it's NTFS then you will have to repartition your drive and reinstal XP.
I would reserver minimum 4-6 GB for Linux if you are installing desktop.
Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
danieldoylem
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 85


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2006, 10:43:32 PM »

The system i wish to run any version of Linux on is my old pc in my room.

800mhz P3 processor
128mb of RAM
15gb Hard disk

So when i reformat the HD, how do i convert it to EXT or whatever instead of FAT32 or NTFS


When i tried to install ubuntu the first time it loaded for like 10 seconds then said

"kernel panic : not syncing; VFS; Unable to mount root fs on unknown-bloc"
Logged

 
danieldoylem
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 85


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2006, 10:44:26 PM »

Its really very confusing to install any version f Linux it seems, so much manaul data entry required, why cant it just be like XP, you stick in the disk and press install, et voila.
Logged

 
tincan
Global Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 178


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2006, 10:56:29 PM »

You should be able to run ubuntu with that system... Although your RAM is a little low... Xubuntu maybe better.

Yes Linux can be a little more tidious to setup... but it offers much more flexibily on what you can do with your PC. If you just want to get Linux up and running to try out... then why not use a Live CD. The new version of Ubuntu allows you to use Linux from a CD without installing it on the hard drive.

If you want to install Linux on your Hard drive. Then this may be of some help:

http://www.crhc.uiuc.edu/~mjmille2/howtos/dual-boot-linux-and-windows/

http://www.linuxdevcenter.com/pub/a/linux/2006/05/08/dual-boot-laptop.html?page=1


It seems that if you use the System Rescue CD you may be able to repartition your NTFS partition.

Logged

http://www.opensourceinfo.org
OpenSource for an OpenMind.
http://www.moviehaven.ca
Your say about movies.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 09, 2019, 09:44:24 PM