MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: port problem
June 16, 2019, 06:08:01 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 16, 2019, 06:08:01 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: port problem  (Read 795 times)
polarrays
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 03, 2006, 11:58:01 AM »

I have a laptop computer that had windows me on it.  Then it had a problem and when I got it back from the computer repair shop, it had windows 98se.  Everything worked fine except the printer didn't work although I loaded all the appropriate drivers.  I have found that if I remove the LPT1 printer port, shut down the computer and start it back up, the computer will detect the device and thereafter the printer works until I shut it down for the day.  At that point, I have to go through the process of removing it and restarting the computer.  Anyone have any ideas?  Thanks.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2006, 11:24:27 PM »

I wouldnt be too happy with the repair shop at this point. Have you contacted them with this issue?

What is the make/model of the printer?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
polarrays
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2006, 12:01:25 PM »

Yes I have contacted the repair shop, but they don't know what to do.  The printer is a Canon BJC240. 
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2006, 03:12:33 PM »

You tell them you paid for their services and they screwed up your system. I would be very upset to find I had another O.S. on my pc after getting it back from a repair shop.

You can try to run sfc

Go to the Run box on the Start Menu and type in:

sfc 

This command will immediately initiate the Windows File Protection service to scan all protected files and verify their integrity, replacing any files with which it finds a problem.


In all likelihood you will be prompted to insert the Windows CD
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 10, 2017, 10:45:50 PM