MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: problems with video
August 21, 2019, 01:26:43 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 21, 2019, 01:26:43 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: problems with video  (Read 2175 times)
theragu40
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 30, 2006, 02:07:05 AM »

Whenever I open a web page that has an embedded Quicktime, RealPlayer, or Windows Media Player, the browser crashes. This is for both audio and video, and happens in Firefox 1.5.0.6 , Internet Explorer 6.0 , and Opera 9.0.1. It's been happening for some time, and I'm not sure what is causing it.

I upgraded to a larger main hard drive a couple of years ago, so I have an old hard drive with a copy of my operating system on it. I tried booting from that and viewing the same sites and they worked just fine.  They also work in safe mode.

However, I have now noticed that I cannot even play DVDs in either RealPlayer (Real Alternative, in my case) or WMP. However, unlike when the programs are embedded in a web page, both can still play audio when not embedded (as opposed to when they are embedded and cause crashes playing both audio and video).

To make matters worse, I just recently did a full hard drive reformat, so my suspicions of a software issue are in doubt.  Then again, it works in safe mode, so I can't rule it out. I'm at a loss.  Does anyone have any other ideas? Thanks much.
Logged
theragu40
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2006, 04:19:23 AM »

Just an addendum...I put my computer in safe mode today, and lo and behold! I could play video.  Does this mean anything else?

EDIT: I'm an idiot, this is in the original post.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2006, 05:42:57 PM by theragu40 » Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2006, 12:07:42 AM »

Possibly a driver issue. Check for updated drivers for your video and audio
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
theragu40
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2006, 12:54:56 PM »

Yeah, I updated the drivers w/ no result.  And I just found out that if I switch back to integrated graphics in my BIOS, I'm able to play videos with no problem.  So I guess the long and short of it would seem to be that some small part of my video card is roached.  It's just confusing because the card has no trouble rendering games.
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 05, 2006, 01:17:09 PM »

Strange indeed, could be either the Page Memory or Linear Memory on the card
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
theragu40
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 05, 2006, 05:42:10 PM »

Well I don't know what those are, but I'm going to go out on a limb and say that those seem like they are irreplaceable items on the card, are they not?
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2006, 12:54:40 AM »

Unfortunately yes, if these go bad the card will need replaced.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
theragu40
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2006, 01:12:56 AM »

Bah.  This I will not do.  It wouldn't make too much sense to upgrade that when I have only a PCI slot.  I'm waiting to upgrade my computer until Vista comes out.
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2006, 02:14:34 PM »

Agreed, I wouldnt try to replace a PCI graphics card either  Roll Eyes
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
likeitorlumpit
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2006, 09:38:10 AM »

Did you check the device manager for any conflicts?
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 07, 2017, 10:28:22 PM