MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Computer Related Discussions arrow Buying Advice arrow Topic: Is my HP Paviion model 7955 Upgradable?
July 16, 2019, 04:47:03 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 16, 2019, 04:47:03 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Is my HP Paviion model 7955 Upgradable?  (Read 1412 times)
burnselk
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: September 06, 2006, 06:25:45 PM »

I bought my HP Pavilion in Oct. 2001 and wonder if it is upgradeable.

I'm beginning to do some video editing and my computer seems to be a bit slow for that.

I have a small 200 watt PSU and a small 32MB video card (nVIDIA RIVA TNT2 model 64) and Windows XP HE.

My processor is a Pentium IV at 1.5GHz with memory of 512MB.

I was wondering if my small PSU could be upgraded so that I can add a better video card. I noticed that most cards call for higher wattages.

However, I have a AGP slot but it's the lowest 4X and this may present a problem.....most better video cards need 8X AGP.

Maybe I should just build a new computer and forget about upgrading this one. Your thoughts please. If you think I should build, can you give me some tips on what to buy? I think I'll go AMD this time.

Thanks to all who respond.
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2006, 01:06:20 AM »

Hi and Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca

Most definately go with an AMD this time. I dont feel your system is capably of handling your needs at this point. The psu is definately undersized for your needs.
Get a mobo with a PCI Express slot instead of AGP. It runs at 16x instead of 8X.

Take a look at this link, it points to my site where I have some specs for some custom built systems.
http://www.tjscustomcomputers.com/built.html
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 07, 2018, 02:18:25 PM