MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Double processes open with 100% cpu
December 14, 2019, 08:43:13 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 14, 2019, 08:43:13 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Double processes open with 100% cpu  (Read 1850 times)
hostile982
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 16, 2006, 03:05:48 AM »

Everytime i start up the computer my cpu usage keeps jumping around. i've cleared all the spyware/virus and stuff i might have on my computer. I've found out that everytime i open a program, 2 of the same processes comes up everytime. i think that has something to do with my problem... if anyone knows anything please respoind to this thread.

Ps: im using AVG as my virus protection and S&D and ad-aware for my spyware.
PPS:could overheat be and issue with my cpu usage?
« Last Edit: November 16, 2006, 03:14:39 AM by hostile982 » Logged
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2006, 04:50:39 PM »

Which processes are taking up your CPU?
Which program(s) do you start up?
Which operating system?
Have you tried AVG Anti Spyware? It finds yet more than Spybot and Adaware together.
Logged

Jord.
hostile982
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2006, 09:51:50 PM »

my cpu just goes up without having anything on. but when i do its usually iexplorer,ventrilo,winamp,hamachi. 1 of those 4
i only start up the ones you need to start. although i do see 1 that has no name. would that be the problem
im using windows XP professional
no i have not, i will download it and see it it'll help

edit: just downloaded it scanned and problem still exists
« Last Edit: November 16, 2006, 10:19:25 PM by hostile982 » Logged
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2006, 01:13:46 AM »

Did you update the AVG AS scanner? (Update, manually update - press Start Update, wait for all updates to come in), then go back to Scanner, New Scan.

iexplorer is Internet Explorer.
ventrilo is your Surround Sound Audio system.
winamp is the WinAmp player.
hamachi is your VPN network connection.

As for the one without a name... how much is it taking up in CPU cycles?
If you want, you can always leave behind a Hijack This log in the Security and Viruses forum.
Logged

Jord.
hostile982
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 17, 2006, 01:37:51 AM »

i've already updated the program before scanning it.
the one without a name is in the msconfig statup.
and how would i post a hijackthis log?
Logged
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2006, 06:09:54 AM »

and how would i post a hijackthis log?
Download HJT.
Unzip it to a new directory.
Run the HJT execuatble
It'll show you all it found in a text window.
It'll give an option to save the log file as a text file. Do so.
Then copy everything from the text window or from the text file you saved and post it in a new thread in the Security and Viruses forum, with a short description of your problem.
Logged

Jord.
hostile982
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2006, 12:20:31 AM »

posted the HJT log and now waiting.
Logged
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2006, 01:57:06 AM »

ok, I noticed that you're being taken care of. When done there, return here and explain, please.
Logged

Jord.
hostile982
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2006, 07:03:23 AM »

person told me to do a cleanup. but must i download all those programs to do so...
and also i remember 1or2 weeks ago i changed my ram. does it matter if i insert the ram into dim1 instead of dim2? would that cause a proiblem
Logged
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2006, 04:02:37 PM »

person told me to do a cleanup. but must i download all those programs to do so...
If you want to get rid of the nameless file that's taking up loads of CPU cycles, then yes, you'd better do so.
Quote
and also i remember 1or2 weeks ago i changed my ram. does it matter if i insert the ram into dim1 instead of dim2? would that cause a proiblem

You'll have to read your motherboard manual on that. So mobo's do, others don't like it.
Logged

Jord.
hostile982
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 13


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2006, 10:57:58 PM »

i think im just going to do a system restore.. do you lose any files while doing it? or does it only change the registry files only?
Logged
Ageless
Dark Overlord of the Universe
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1779



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: November 24, 2006, 07:46:00 AM »

It rolls back on system files, registry keys and installed programs/changed or added files.
Logged

Jord.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 30, 2018, 09:12:07 AM