MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: pc will not load
November 17, 2019, 09:21:23 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 17, 2019, 09:21:23 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: pc will not load  (Read 2763 times)
poppie
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 01, 2003, 09:09:31 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:windows 98
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:

When I turn on my computer and it starts to load up a screen comes up and says:

Cannot find System.ini.

You will have to run windows setup again to load file.
Press any key...

When I press any key the computer shuts off.

Can someone tell me what to do?

Thanks!


Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2003, 10:23:31 PM »

Paste the following text in c:\windows\system.ini


[386Enh]
   device=*vshare
   device=*dynapage
   device=*vcd
   device=*vpd
   device=*int13
   keyboard=*vkd
   display=*vdd
   mouse=*vmouse, msmouse.vxd
   woafont=dosapp.fon
   device=*enable

   [keyboard]
   layout=kbdus.kbd
   subtype=
   type=4
   keyboard.dll=
   oemansi.bin=

   [Intl]
   ACP=1252
   OEMCP=437
   SystemLocale=00000409

   [boot]
   system.drv=system.drv
   drivers=mmsystem.dll
   user.exe=user.exe
   gdi.exe=gdi.exe
   sound.drv=mmsound.drv
   dibeng.drv=dibeng.dll
   comm.drv=comm.drv
   shell=Explorer.exe
   keyboard.drv=keyboard.drv
   fonts.fon=vgasys.fon
   fixedfon.fon=vgafix.fon
   oemfonts.fon=vgaoem.fon
   386Grabber=vgafull.3gr
   display.drv=pnpdrvr.drv
   mouse.drv=mouse.drv
   *DisplayFallback=0

   [power.drv]

   [drivers]
   wavemapper=*.drv

   [iccvid.drv]

   [mciseq.drv]

   [mci]
   cdaudio=mcicda.drv
   sequencer=mciseq.drv
   waveaudio=mciwave.drv
   avivideo=mciavi.drv
   videodisc=mcipionr.drv
   vcr=mcivisca.drv

   [NonWindowsApp]

   [vcache]

   [nwnp32]

   [boot.description]
   keyboard.typ=Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural Keyboard
   aspect=100,96,96
   display.drv=Standard Display Adapter (VGA)
   mouse.drv=Standard mouse
   system.drv=Standard PC

   [MSNP32]

   [display]

   [drivers32]
   vidc.CVID=iccvid.dll
   VIDC.IV31=ir32_32.dll
   VIDC.IV32=ir32_32.dll
   vidc.MSVC=msvidc32.dll
   VIDC.MRLE=msrle32.dll
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2003, 03:16:55 PM »

poppie replied:
quote:
Thanks for the advice but I cannot get past the load up screen to even get into windows. I can't even get a c prompt.

Can you tell me how to fix this then I can paste the text.

Thanks!
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2003, 03:22:37 PM »

Hi,

1. Hit F8 before the WIndows logog screen to access the boot menu.
2. Select "Command Prompt Only"
3. At the C: prompt, type 'edit c:\windows\system.ini' <ENTER> (no quotes)
If file has garbage characters at beginning or end of file, try removing them, save and exit. If problem persists, go to another computer and create a system.ini file with the contents I supplied above and copy file to floppy disk.
4. Bring the floppy disk to your 'problem' system and at the prompt type:
'copy a:\system.ini c:\windows' <ENTER> (no quotes)
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
poppie
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2003, 05:07:02 PM »

Thanks admin.

This help me get back into windows!
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2003, 06:21:57 PM »

Hi,

Glad windows is up and running for you! Grin
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
poppie
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2003, 12:58:31 PM »

Before my password screen come up a error message comes up saying,

Could not load the enable 2.vxd module

Why?

Thanks!
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2003, 04:46:09 PM »

Hi,

Since you are having a few problems with your system, can you run a scandisk and let the surface scan run to see if these errors are due to bad sectors on your hard drive?

1. Start > Shut Down...
2. Select "Restart in MS-DOS mode"
3. At the prompt, type 'scandisk /all /surface' <ENTER> (no quotes)
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
poppie
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 14, 2003, 08:29:46 PM »

There were no errors found.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2003, 02:55:12 PM »

Hi,

At this point I would try to re-install Win98 on top of the existing installation to see if this fixes your problem.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page August 08, 2018, 05:07:36 PM