MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Slow Computer
November 17, 2019, 03:16:20 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 17, 2019, 03:16:20 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Slow Computer  (Read 1576 times)
Mad Skillz222
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 03, 2003, 02:36:22 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Millenium Edition
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



I have a Dell Dimension 8100 with 128 megs of Ram and a 40 GB hard drive but I only use 10.  Whenever I load applications, IM someone, click on a link, or try to print something, my computer freezes for about 20 second then it somes back to normal like nothing happens.  I was thinking of getting an extra 256 megs but I'm not sure. Post with any suggestions you have.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2003, 02:52:34 PM »

Hi,

Sounds like a software problem that additional memory would not fix!

To make sure, run Windows in Diagnostics Mode to see if the problem goes away. If it does, let me know and we can try and pin point the exact application causing this.

Use "Diagnostics Startup" to troubleshoot Windows
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Mad Skillz222
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2003, 10:26:17 PM »

Thanks I tried diagnostics mode and everything was ok. My computer didn't slow down once. I need to know what to do now.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2003, 02:04:04 AM »

Hi,

All this could be caused by an anti-virus software, try disabling it. If in icon tray (bottom right hand corner), right click and select "close" or "exit"...

If not, try:

1. Use msconfig again and select a "Selective Startup"
2. Keep all checkbox checked except for the last one "Load Startup Group Items"
3. This will remove all the checks from the "Startup" tab in msconfig
4. Hit OK, reboot, if problem doesn't come back, you narrowed it down to one of the items from the "Startup" tab.
5. Now go to the "Startup" tab in msconfig and add a few at a time and hit OK, reboot
6. Do this until the problem starts up again. Once it does you should have a good idea of which item is causing your problems.

Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Mad Skillz222
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2003, 02:25:13 AM »

Thanks alot I disabled my anti-virus software and everything works fine now.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2003, 03:29:35 PM »

Hi,

Although the anti-virus software was the cause, I would not recommend running your system without one.

Which anti-virus software are you using and is it up-to-date?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2003, 04:56:26 PM »

Over heating CPU, you have a dust problem. Get vacuuming!
Logged




Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2003, 08:36:33 PM »

Hi rghasenohr,

The problem was already found to be the anti-virus software causing intermittent hang ups. Removing the dust from systems is essential but not the solution here!
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2003, 03:24:02 PM »

Smiley OK
Logged




Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 18, 2017, 05:33:15 AM