MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: My DVD stopped working and i am getting this message.
April 03, 2020, 07:20:11 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 03, 2020, 07:20:11 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: My DVD stopped working and i am getting this message.  (Read 2019 times)
dcleistner
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: March 27, 2007, 09:07:04 PM »

under device status in device properties i get the following message.   

 Windows cannot start this hardware device because its configuration information (in the registry) is incomplete or damaged. (Code 19)

Click 'Check for solutions' to send data about this device to Microsoft and to see if there is a solution available.

Any help would be so nice,  Thank you
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2007, 10:41:30 AM »

Hi and Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca

Delete the filter entries for the third-party device drivers. These entries can sometimes become damaged.

To delete the offending keys, open the Registry and navigate to
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESYSTEMCurrentControlSetControlCl ass\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}. . Delete the keys named UpperFilters and LowerFilters and reboot.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
dcleistner
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2007, 05:04:37 PM »

i got into the registry edit, but i cannot view properties under those key.  it says i do not have access.  it is my computer and i cannot figure out how to give myself access.  are the upper and lower filters you decribed under the properties keys?  can you help,  thank you soooooo much
Logged
dcleistner
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2007, 06:36:21 PM »

also i see no keys with upper and lower in any of the others
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2007, 08:37:06 PM »

Open notepad, then paste this:

REGEDIT4
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E965-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}] "UpperFilters"=- "LowerFilters"=-

Save it as cd.reg, go to the folder you saved it, right click on it, and then click merge, restart your computer
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
dcleistner
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2007, 01:07:51 PM »

i did that and it is the same
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: April 03, 2007, 12:07:50 AM »

Go into the Device Manager and right clikc on the drive in question, click remove/delete. Reboot the system and  Windows should reconize new hardware
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
dcleistner
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2007, 12:35:01 PM »

it is the same
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2007, 02:19:19 PM »

You should have been up and running with no problems using the above suggstions, you may have more registry/corrupt files in the system

Run the System File Checker

Go to the Run box on the Start Menu and type in:

sfc /scannow   ( sfc if not reconized)    (Note that there is a space between sfc and /scannow)

This command will immediately initiate the Windows File Protection service to scan all protected files and verify their integrity, replacing any files with which it finds a problem.


In all likelihood you will be prompted to insert the Windows XP CD.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
dcleistner
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2007, 02:10:08 AM »

i am running vista
Logged
dcleistner
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2007, 02:10:58 AM »

there is no start menu
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: April 04, 2007, 09:37:05 PM »

Grrr...sorry bout that didnt know you were running Vista

click Start/ All Programs/ Accessories
right click on the Command Prompt option
on the drop down menu which appears, click on the Run as Administrator option
If you haven
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
dcleistner
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: April 05, 2007, 11:27:38 PM »

it went through and did not ask for a disc, but it did not work
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: April 06, 2007, 02:41:24 AM »

Try this

On the General Properties tab of the device, click Troubleshoot to start the Troubleshooting Wizard. Click Uninstall, and then click Scan for hardware changes to load a usable driver. Restart the computer in Safe Mode, and then select Last Known Good Configuration. This rolls back to the most recent successful registry configuration.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 05, 2018, 11:58:27 AM