MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Laptop keeps freezing
August 26, 2019, 02:12:32 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 26, 2019, 02:12:32 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Laptop keeps freezing  (Read 1175 times)
rwa123
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: April 12, 2003, 01:17:35 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Win98
Problem Application Name & Version: N/A
Problem Hardware Make & Model: DELL Inspiron 7000 (Laptop)
Error Messages: N/A



My laptop keeps freezing (i.e. cursor and keyboard 'lock up') and can only continue by pulling power.

This occurs quite randomly but primarily when an application is started and a task is submitted (e.g. run Internet Explorer and try to enter an URL........ ; try to run Word ....etc.....)

I have reformatted the hard disc twice to try to overcome the problem but still occurs with just Win98 running and no other applications installed (e.g. MS Office ; Internet Explorer etc...).   A simple task of reading a file from a floppy now causes the laptop to lock up.....

Any ideas to resolve would be appreciated.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2003, 06:19:27 PM »

Hi,

Is your laptop overheating?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2003, 06:37:09 PM »

Microsoft Knowledge Base Article - 217222
Problems with Expanded Memory on Dell Inspiron 7000 Computers
The information in this article applies to:
Microsoft Windows 98

This article was previously published under Q217222
SYMPTOMS
When you try to start an MS-DOS-based program on your Dell Inspiron 7000-series computer, you may receive one of the following error messages:




Cannot Setup EMS Buffer


EMM386 Not Installed - Unable to set page frame base address
CAUSE
This issue can occur if your MS-DOS-based program requires Expanded Memory (EMS) page frames. EMS page frames require 64K of upper memory, however, Dell Inspiron 7000-series computers can only provide 54K of upper memory.
MORE INFORMATION
For information about EMS usage and management, please see the following article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:


95555 Overview of Memory-Management Functionality in MS-DOS

Hope this helps Smiley

Logged




rwa123
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2003, 05:25:35 AM »

Thanks for the replies.....

To answer the question re. overheating.

- there is no overheating evident as "locking up / freezing" can occur after just a few minutes of use.

RE : The posting re. Error messages "Cannot Setup EMS Buffer" or
"EMM386 Not Installed - Unable to set page frame base address" :

There are no error messages returned before the keyboard and cursor simply 'lock-up'.  Only way I have found to free is to power up & down.

Any other suggestions would be welcomed.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2003, 12:44:29 PM »

Hi,

Try running in Diagnostics Startup to see if problem goes away, if it does you have something loading during startup causing this.

Use "Diagnostics Startup" to troubleshoot Windows
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 13, 2018, 06:28:10 AM