MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Unknown device, truly unknown (Vista)
June 05, 2020, 06:26:59 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 05, 2020, 06:26:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Unknown device, truly unknown (Vista)  (Read 1000 times)
cether01
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 90


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: September 03, 2007, 01:07:33 PM »

History:  Medion M3 Director 3000 system.  P4-HT 3.0GHz, Came with XP Media Center Edition 2002. 

Decided to upgrade to Vista Home Premium, everything works fine except for "unknown Device" in device manager.  This Unknown Device was not there before the Vista Installation.

I dont know what this unknown device is.  Used the Medion XP OEM cd's to search for driver, windows update and searched the HDD but no luck.

Like I said, everything works "ok" on the computer, music, video and TV Play fine but a few things that have went wrong are:

1.) dxdiag pulls an error that says "Error: Problem getting extra sound info" and under the Sound1 Tab in dxdiag, it says: The file cmuda.sys is not digitally signed, which means that it has not been tested by Microsoft's Windows Hardware Quality Labs (WHQL).  You may be able to get a WHQL logo'd driver from the hardware manufacturer."

2.)  I play World of Warcraft and I do have choppy and popping sound effects during game play which is not a known issue according to Blizzard but the problem has been resolved for the most part by deleting some folders in the directory of the game and letting the game recreate them during game restart.

3.) Vista Upgrade Advisor said everything was compatible before upgrading except it could not say yes or no to the following 2 devices:

     a.)  nVidia WDM Video Capture (universal)
     b.)  nVidia WDM A/V Crossbar


Anyone have any suggestions as to where I can start to get this resolved.
Logged

 
redaxe
Supreme Loonie
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +16/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1276


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2007, 11:50:10 AM »

Without being too Vista savvy (especially since I detest the release of beta software in any form except to qualified testers), I have to come to the conclusion that those two items are my main culprits for your problems. The thing is, Vista isn't 100% compatible with all hardware and/or sofware out there, and as such shouldn't be installed on any machine, unless the machine was built specifically to run under Vista.
Logged

Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page August 05, 2019, 06:35:54 PM