MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: IE Freezes
June 06, 2020, 10:16:46 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 06, 2020, 10:16:46 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: IE Freezes  (Read 1004 times)
MrKain
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 19


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: September 20, 2007, 02:36:11 AM »

Hey, Having problems with IE. Everything was working fine till last night when I installed norton 360. No errors installing it, ran it without any problems. The I tried to go to a few pages. When I typed the url IE freezes. If I type in like www.google.com hit enter or hit go, it freezes right up and stops responding. If I go to links or favorties, it works fine. So I can connect to the internet, get to certain pages from my link list html page I made for my home page and I can get to my favorite pages. But any time I typ in a url, it freezes. I uninstalled norton360 and still the same thing, went into tools, internetoptions, advance and restored all the defults, I have upgraded from IE6 to IE7 and still the same thing.

AGGG JUST A PAIN IN THE ASS CAN ANYONE HELP!!!!!

The error I get

szAppName : iexplore.exe     szAppVer : 7.0.5730.11     szModName : hungapp
szModVer : 0.0.0.0     offset : 00000000     

files included in the error report.
C:\DOCUME~1\John\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER841b.dir00\iexplore.exe.mdmp
C:\DOCUME~1\John\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER841b.dir00\appcompat.txt
Logged

 
redaxe
Supreme Loonie
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +16/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1276


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2007, 12:02:57 AM »

This is a very obvious result of installing Norton.

It's the worst kind of bloatware you can put on a computer and you'd be better off not using it. If you're looking for good free AntiVirus software, look no further than Avira's AntiVir or Grisoft's AVG

A free firewall can be obtained from ZoneLabs and probably more places, if you want to look around.

The big corporations are notoriously bad at combining things that shouldn't be combined in one package, Norton and McAfee are a couple of the worst cases.

Try uninstalling Norton again and see if you can get back online. If you can, you know where the problem was lying.

Alternatively, move away from IE and use Firefox and only use IE when you go to the Windows Updates website.
Logged

Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page August 05, 2019, 06:37:44 PM