MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Networking Problems arrow Topic: Home Networking Problem
December 09, 2019, 09:49:40 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 09, 2019, 09:49:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Home Networking Problem  (Read 1659 times)
Tony77
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 08, 2007, 08:02:44 AM »

For about 2 weeks now, my home network (for lack of a better description) has been locking up on me. The network seems to just disappear as none of the computers can see each other or access the internet. Unplugging and resetting the switch gets it going again. I have a completely wired network, nothing wireless.

I
Logged

Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2007, 12:03:56 AM »

Hello and Welcome to the forum  Grin

I am not familiar with Folding@Home but a quick Google search tells me people from throughout the world download and run software to band together to make one of the largest supercomputers in the world. Is this correct?

I don't think Charter cable cares how many pcs you have unless they state in their subscription agreement an amount of connections allowable.

It seems to me you have changed everything but you CAT5 cables.

How are you disconnecting and reconnecting the switch? Please explain in detail.

How is it locking up, what is is doing? Is it producing any error messages ?

When you say none of the computers can see each other have you tried pinging from a command prompt? By name and ip?


Lets start with those questions and see if we can resolve your issue

Geekgirl

Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Olynsky
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2008, 08:39:30 AM »

If at run you type \\pcname or \\ipaddress (using the other PCs name or ipaddress) do you see the base level file for that PC. The folder should contain Printers and Faxes and Scheduled tasks at the least.

If you have any shared files configured, they should be here. Let us know how this works.

Make sure you configure everyone in the properties and give at least read permissions.

If it is the firewall, it should notify you I would of thought, and I would advise you configure WEP encryption if you are sharing files over a semi-wireless network.
Logged

Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 24, 2018, 04:55:49 AM