MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Building Gaming System
December 09, 2019, 10:13:47 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 09, 2019, 10:13:47 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Building Gaming System  (Read 784 times)
Newbie96
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 10, 2007, 05:23:57 PM »

Hi,

I am new to this site.  I am putting parts together for a gaming system.  I have been looking at the Asus Crosshair mobo, AMD AM2 6400+, XFX 8800 GTS, 4 Gigs of Patriot Ram, Creative XtremeGamer sound card, Raptor 150 GB hd, Seagate 500 GB hd, and a DVD Rom SATA and DVD bruner SATA.  I have been reading that people are having trouble getting this mobo to "see" 4 gigs of ram.  Anyone have any issues with the parts I am looking at? I have been trying to contact Asus with no reply.  Also I am torn over what OS to use, XP Pro x64 or Vista?? Any input would be great. Thanks

Newbie96
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2007, 12:23:19 AM »

Your system will not see more than 3 GB of ram unless you are using a 64bit OS

Personally I use MSI mobos. Your choice of cpu and video are good, ram seems to be of personal preference as they are all lifetime warrantied now a-days
Which drive is going to be your primary drive the Raptor 150 GB hd or the Seagate 500 GB hd?

Personally I wouldn't use Vista yet, you can always install at a later time as your system should be compatible.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Newbie96
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2007, 11:32:27 PM »

Hi,

Thanks for the info.
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page May 01, 2018, 11:41:33 AM