MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Programming Problems arrow Topic: problems with table layout
April 23, 2019, 06:34:16 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 23, 2019, 06:34:16 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: problems with table layout  (Read 1740 times)
SUGAR22
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 12, 2007, 03:14:24 PM »

I am trying out a couple of layouts for presenting some information in
table format. Basically, two tables side by side.

Table 1: 3 rows, one column fixed width.
table 2: A calendar format with 3 rows.

In FF they are displayed as I want them. Even if I include an overflow
to force a horizontal scrollbar. Ok I know. But if horizontal
scrollbars are not desired, then why do we have them?
In IE the overflow is totally ignored.

Should I happen to have in table 1, a 4th line of text, then the <hr>
I use as a seperator, shows up floating beside table 1, not underneath
it as it should.
Easily fixed with a <br> but I feel that should not be necessary.

In IE, A horizontal scroll bar is not displayed until the data is
forced way beyond the edge unlike in FF. Then table 2 drops below
table 1 which is not where I want it.


In another format, I simply place table 2 under table 1. Which is ok
but just doesn't look right.


Anyone have a site that discusses this problem and how to work around
it so that the browsers are satisfied and the tables show as I want?
_________________
mobility scooter Active Adult Community
Logged
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2007, 04:16:07 PM »

Hi,

Why not use nested tables and put both tables in another table?

Not pretty html but it works....

Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2007, 08:32:29 PM »

This may help, this is an excellent site for html

http://www.w3schools.com/html/html_tables.asp
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page March 27, 2019, 01:46:00 AM