MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Need some help with computer.
August 22, 2019, 10:52:48 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 22, 2019, 10:52:48 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Need some help with computer.  (Read 813 times)
zombiejesus
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 17, 2007, 06:06:54 PM »

I hope someone can help me as Im almost out of ideas. I'm building a computer (for the first time).

Anyways I've put it all together powered it on The board gets power but I get no signal on the on my screen. I got the CPU checked and I was told it was fine. I have 2 gigs of Ram, I cant see both being shot as they are both brand new. I've put in a different HDD to make sure that wasnt it and it still has the same issues.

I just don't know what the issue is. Any Suggestions.

Heres the link to what I purchased if it helps.

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/searchtools/item-detailsInactive.asp?EdpNo=3478114
Logged
zombiejesus
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2007, 06:19:24 PM »

Heh, I just saw that the Power Supply has to be atleast 500 watts to run the dual video cards, the PS that was provided is only 400w. That would seem to be an obvious solution, Question I have is, should it work if I only have 1 video card in. or is the amount of power the main board needs for video no matter how many video cards are in?
Logged
zombiejesus
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 3


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2007, 06:39:09 PM »

bump
Logged
redaxe
Supreme Loonie
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +16/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1276


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2007, 08:14:21 PM »

You've been sold a PSU that can't handle the necessary power outlet, so make a point of returning it for a more powerful unit (get a 750W unit if you possibly can, to have some overhead)

Since you bought the two GFX cards, then it's folly to leave one out at all. Get a new PSU and then report back with your findings.

Good luck
Logged

Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 29, 2018, 06:49:52 AM