MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: windows & me
June 07, 2020, 08:27:57 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 07, 2020, 08:27:57 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: windows & me  (Read 1442 times)
goofy48220
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: January 19, 2008, 09:56:19 PM »

oh by the way the window i'm useing is
windows and me millennium edition.


i have a computer and i'm haveing troubles i can't
get in my add & remove setttings in the control panel
even all off them in there can't even get in mt clock settings

when i click on them it says

control panel it says windows cannot acess the
the speifed device path or files you my not have
the appropriate permission to access the items.
Logged
redaxe
Supreme Loonie
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +16/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1276


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2008, 06:39:16 PM »

Sounds like your Windows installation has become corrupt.

If you have the original Windows installation CD around, I recommend using it to reinstall Windows completely. Followed by installing motherboard, chipset, soundcard and graphics card drivers. Also all other drivers you might need, such as modem, Ethernet and whatnot. You'll probably have to install all your programs again, since the Windows registry will have been overwritten.

Alternatively you can just take it on the chin and live with the current problems.
Logged

NetStrikr
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2008, 06:47:22 PM »

There is also the possibility of someone making another user account and removing the Administrator permissions to your account.

I am not 100% sure on this. But like Windows XP has the repair option when putting in the disc. If the MEdition has that, you could try that as an option
Logged

There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who know Binary and those who have friends.
goofy48220
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2008, 12:33:07 AM »

i don't have a back up disk of windows and me i have
one for my othere hp computer i can't us that on the othere
computer and theres no way  of someone making another user account
cause it won't let me in to do that  i  click for a new account
in it stell says control panel it says windows cannot acess the
the speifed device path or files you my not have
the appropriate permission to access the items

i think the only way to get this done is do a wash that means delite all files out
of the computer and put the files back in go to admin put my username in the back ln
everyone can us the pc. 
Logged
redaxe
Supreme Loonie
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +16/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1276


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2008, 04:41:16 PM »

If you delete all files from the hard drive, then you'll lose the operating system, so that's not really a viable option.

If you can't get your hands on a legit version of WinME, then there isn't much I can do for you, since the CD is required to do any sort of plausible repairs.
Logged

goofy48220
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2008, 05:07:38 PM »

its ok we tryed leasen i have another problum
i have a  HAL.DLL Missing or Corrupt
fellowed what it says but no can do 

HAL.DLL Missing or Corrupt

If you get an error regarding a missing or corrupt hal.dll file, it might simply be the BOOT.INI file on the root of the C: drive that is misconfigured
Insert and boot from your WindowsXP CD.
At the first R=Repair option, press the R key
Press the number that corresponds to the correct location for the installation of Windows you want to repair.
Typically this will be #1
Type bootcfg /list to show the current entries in the BOOT.INI file
Type bootcfg /rebuild to repair it
Take out the CD ROM and type exit

at the and it say take disk  and type eixt  and restart computer
but disk dorr won't open

i have another problum when i but the disk in

to do a download then after its done it say remove disk
so when i prass the button it won't open the door
the only way the door will open is it shut down and turn it back on
and hit that button before it starts to load and it opens.
but when theres no disk in it it works ok only when the
disk is in it  it won't open that problum apain before that
other one

Logged
redaxe
Supreme Loonie
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +16/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1276


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2008, 09:04:15 PM »

It sounds like your operating system is so horribly messed up, that it's way beyond any normal means of repair. Since I don't have direct access to your computer, then I'm afraid you'll have to take it in for repairs, since this seems to be too multi-threaded to be solvable here.
Logged

goofy48220
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2008, 06:09:52 PM »

thanks all u tryed i toke it in to get it fix
will lord and be hold they told me it will
cast to much to fix they said it will cast
me $500.00 to $600.00 to fix it. they
said its batter to by a new one so
i went shopping and i went to bast buys
and buy a new computer its aloy batter but
one thing i have troubles with network
connection troulbles where do i post it for help
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page May 01, 2018, 08:48:39 AM