MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: No video
November 13, 2019, 11:49:40 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 13, 2019, 11:49:40 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: No video  (Read 869 times)
pwrmax
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 19, 2008, 03:18:54 AM »

I have just upgraded from an onboard video card to a Radeon HD 2600. I turn it on and I get no video, my monitor's light flashes as it does when the computer's off. I got no luck with either output on the video card, there's nothing trying the onboard video output either. Everything works except the video. The guy at the computer store told me that the BIOS should auto-detect the card. The video card only has DVI outputs so I've had to use a DVI to VGA adapter that I bought from ebay. I suspect the adapter might be the problem but if anyone has any other theories, I would really appreciate it.
Logged
redaxe
Supreme Loonie
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +16/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1276


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2008, 09:20:37 AM »

Try something else, if you have the time or the material for it.

Try to plug a different monitor into the onboard VGA port, while the current one is connected.

Then go into the BIOS and disable the onboard graphics.

See if that makes any difference and report back

good luck Smiley
Logged

pwrmax
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2008, 07:14:57 PM »

I changed the "Init Display First" setting to pci-ex before installing the card. Even switching the plug between the onboard's output and the card's output while the computer's running didn't help.
Logged
redaxe
Supreme Loonie
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +16/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1276


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2008, 09:11:28 AM »

Try disabling the onboard sound completely and see if that makes any difference at all.

If it makes no difference, re-enable it and see if the drivers for your PCI-E slot are actually installed in your Windows.
I'm pretty sure that the install files should have come with the motherboard drivers.

If the drivers are already installed, install a fresh copy over the old one, then report back

Good luck
Logged

Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page February 20, 2019, 11:09:18 PM