MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: Problem with Yahoo Messenger
August 22, 2019, 11:45:01 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 22, 2019, 11:45:01 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Problem with Yahoo Messenger  (Read 1070 times)
inafix
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 28, 2008, 08:24:24 PM »

Hi-I'm embarrassingly computer illiterate, am so am unable to resolve the following problem on my own. I've a feeling the topic may not belong under this heading-if so, can it be moved where appropriate? many thanks!

I shut down my computer rather quickly one day and something went wrong, for when i started it up the next time, i was unable to access my yahoo messenger. there was an alert that i had to adjust the page size, which i did. however since doing that, my yahoo messenger window is no longer the familiar oblong one on the right side of the screen, but is a large window in the middle of the screen. the orange thing appears on the toolbar, notifying me of a new message, but the message itself does not appear as it formerly did, in the middle of my screen. in fact, i cannot pull up these messages even in "history". so i think i messed something up by adjusting the page size (i made it larger).

i should clarify that i have windows xp.

i can no longer find where i adjusted the page size. i have attempted "systems restore", but as soon as i get to the calendar where you are supposed to click on a date, i click, but nothing happens.

what am i doing wrong? how can i rectify this problem? please help! many thanks!
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2008, 11:47:32 AM »

Hello and Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca

Try using System Restore in Safe Mode. You can enter Safe Mode in this manner:
How to Boot to Safe Mode


I am not sure if you may have lost your video drivers or what the message actually was considering I cannot see it or you desktop. Right click on an empty spot on your desktop and click Properties. Click the Settings tab, what is the Resolution and Color Quality set to?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page December 30, 2018, 09:33:20 AM