MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Reformatted computer, but have problems..ie"windows xp is not completly set up
November 17, 2019, 02:31:24 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 17, 2019, 02:31:24 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Reformatted computer, but have problems..ie"windows xp is not completly set up  (Read 1413 times)
ruderitalin
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 07, 2008, 02:45:36 AM »

ok heres my problem. I wanted to reformat windows so I went into "windows xp proffesional
setup"(booted to recovery disk).I have 2 internal hard drives, so I deleted them both. then
I installed windows on 1 of them and turned the other into a partition. after I turned the
second drive into a partition and pressed f3 to exit, I got the message...

"Windows XP is not completly set up on your computer. If you quit setup now, you will need

to run setup again to set up windows XP.

>to continue setup press enter
>to quit setup, press F3"

, so I just thought thats weird and exited because I knew I had installed windows on the
first drive. everything works fine except when I restart the computer without the recovery
disk inside, before windows starts I get the message "DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK
AND PRESS ENTER". if I go into "windows xp professional setup" and then press f3 to exit it
gives me the message "Windows XP is not completly set up on your computer. If you quit setup
now.......".

What is wrong and how do I fix it?

I could just change my boot order, but Im concerned this might be causing my computer
problems that I cannot see.
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2008, 05:18:42 PM »

What happens if you disconnect the extra drive and boot? Normally I do not set up a system with an extra drive installed, I connect the extra drive after the initial setup to avoid these types of issues
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
ruderitalin
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2008, 02:10:32 AM »

What happens if you disconnect the extra drive and boot? Normally I do not set up a system with an extra drive installed, I connect the extra drive after the initial setup to avoid these types of issues

I got a solution in the works for now, so Im not about to test my computer without the extra drive yet.  The solution I thought of is to install windows on one drive, then instead of turning the other drive into a partition using "windows setup" I will go inside windows and search for new hardware, as a different way of detecting the other drive, hopefully without problems. I havent tryed this yet though.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2008, 02:15:37 AM by ruderitalin » Logged
ruderitalin
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2008, 02:13:12 AM »

I got another question... Is what I did supposed to work? Because Im not very experienced with reformatting computers.
Logged
ruderitalin
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2008, 01:35:05 AM »

bump
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2008, 10:13:26 AM »

Quote
I got a solution in the works for now, so Im not about to test my computer without the extra drive yet.  The solution I thought of is to install windows on one drive, then instead of turning the other drive into a partition using "windows setup" I will go inside windows and search for new hardware, as a different way of detecting the other drive, hopefully without problems. I havent tryed this yet though.
Thats pretty much what I said in my reply, this should work for you
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 09, 2018, 02:33:27 PM