MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: problems with XP and 2 SATA drives
November 17, 2019, 02:45:27 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 17, 2019, 02:45:27 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: problems with XP and 2 SATA drives  (Read 890 times)
tukesmith
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 30, 2008, 07:05:21 PM »

I had a windows corruption on my SATA Samsung SP2504C HD and bought a new SATA HD, Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 to use as my OS. I installed XP on the seagate and it runs. Now, I want to install the samsung and transfer files over to the seagate HD, but the computer won't start windows with both drives connected.
    Seagate HD is selected in BIOS as the boot priority, but it won't give me any options beyond that.
  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
Logged
skewedhalo
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 22


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2008, 05:23:31 PM »

Processor: Pentium Duo core
Motherboard: GF7050V-M7
OS: Win XP SP2

This sounds awfully like the rpoblem I was about to post, so I had better keep a watch out for replies here.

I had finally got my PC running stably and wanted to add a second SATA drive as a slave. 

Plug it in and fan turns once then nothing.  Unplug it and all is well.  I have tried several available power leads.  Place I bought the HD from says it's because my BIOS needs changing but I can't find anywhere in my BIOS that refers to the SATA settings.

Please help.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 09, 2018, 01:05:24 PM