MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: BIOS not fully ACPI compliant , help !
November 13, 2019, 11:41:35 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 13, 2019, 11:41:35 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: BIOS not fully ACPI compliant , help !  (Read 1610 times)
x6
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: November 16, 2008, 01:47:48 AM »

hi all ! i get a blue screen when trying to boot up and i basically get this message, BIOS not fully ACPI compliant. i just reinstalled windows because of virus's, before this problem started.

system;
2.6 P4
windows XP 2002 home

i have enough ram, etc

if anyone can give instructions on what needs to be done that would be very kind.

thanks everyone and take care


Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2008, 05:05:44 PM »

Have you tried loading failsafe and optimized defaults?
Remove the memory and reseat
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
x6
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2008, 07:47:54 AM »

yo

i don't get the blue screen anymore but now all i get is about 10 - 15 minutes operating time and it resets. after it resets it doesn't boot up properly. when i leave my PC turned off for 10 - 15 minutes afterwards is when i can use it again for another 10 - 15 min. before it crashes again.

i never made sure to erase all the memory before i reformat my 2 hard drives. i have never done this before either. where do i do this ? i'm going to try loading failsafe and optimized defaluts..
« Last Edit: November 18, 2008, 07:50:17 AM by x6 » Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2008, 05:42:28 PM »

To reset the memory you need to open the side of the case, assuming this is a desktop, and find the memory modules. Just remove them and reset back in the slot
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
x6
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2008, 06:11:24 PM »

first off thanks very much for your help..

so remove the ram sticks correct ? and place them back.
Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2008, 07:37:27 PM »

Yes, I always remove them then blow into the slot making sure there is no dust or debris in it then reseat the ram into the slot
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
x6
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 8


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2008, 09:01:28 PM »

wow ! thanks again.

my PC work perfectly fine now.. i was assuming i would have to take my PC to a shop and pay someone to fix it. what a relief.

i need to find an anti virus program now. what programs from the list do you recommend i download at this point..

bye for now

 Grin
« Last Edit: November 18, 2008, 09:10:46 PM by x6 » Logged
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2008, 09:16:24 PM »

Im happy your all fixed up !!  Grin

As for anti-virus, NOD32 is the best. Heres my website, go and click the Here link on the right/bottom and try the 30-day free anti-virus trail, you wont be disappointed I promise.    Wink

www.tjscustomcomputers.com

or you can go to www.eset.com
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page December 31, 2018, 07:45:15 PM