MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Replacing multiple hard drives
June 26, 2019, 11:05:46 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 26, 2019, 11:05:46 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Replacing multiple hard drives  (Read 710 times)
Lil_Blond
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: May 18, 2003, 10:21:03 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


Dell Optiplex GX1 pentium II
Western Digital 400EB
I currently am running off a computer with three 2 gig hard drives, I am planning on replacing the old D with a 40 gig and then coping all of the info from the E drive onto it. My question is....Can I then remove the E drive and reinstall the old D drive into the E drive slot without losing all the files on it? Grrr  

Dazed & Confused???
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2003, 04:24:52 PM »

Hi,

Removing and re-adding a drive will not cause the data to be lost as long as you use the same hard drive parameters in the BIOS. If the BIOS is set to AUTO DETECT the hard drive parameters on bootup, then this is not an issue, since I assume all your drives were originally partitioned in this system.

What I would do, since you already have three drives, is to temporally disconnect the cdrom drive, put the new drive in its place, most likely set as slave, partition it using fdisk (please specify OS), format it, transfer the data from other drives and them remove the second drive and replace it with the new one.
Remember when you boot up, the new drive will be the F: drive (also G: if you partitioned into two). When you replace the second drive with the new one, it will become the D: drive and the others will follow. Don't forget to reconnect your cdrom drive.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 04, 2017, 03:55:59 PM