MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Wireless Devices Problems arrow Topic: router question
December 08, 2019, 10:10:22 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 08, 2019, 10:10:22 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: router question  (Read 1968 times)
h3llfir3
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 2


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 06, 2009, 03:11:03 AM »

is it bad to connect to your routers config with wireless? What is it okay to change in the config when connected with wireless to the router?
I connected from my laptop to the routers config with wireless and changed some options in the menus but didnt save anything. I did get one error message and now my internet is running very slow. could i have damaged my router?
Logged
Spirit34
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2009, 08:06:29 PM »

I have an Air Plus Xtreme G router and I want to connect my wireless laptop to it.  I can reach a dozen routers, including my own, but I get an error message saying I need a Network Key, a WEP or a WPA.  Where do I find a key, and typing 198..... whatever the number is, into my browser kicks back with site not found.

Spirit34
Logged
CCT
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2009, 01:38:29 PM »

Spirit34; 
 
The access address to that router is, apparently, 192.168.0.1 .  Is that what you tried?

Logged
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2010, 03:24:22 PM »

I wouldn't recommend it.
To save settings to most routers you must restart them.
Being on a wireless connection does not allow you to fully shut it down.
The configurations either do not take or are corrupted.
Some router manufacturers are not allowing wireless configuration.
Check your Router's Manual
D-Link & Netgear routers admin page are accessed throught 192.168.0.1
Linksys access through 192.168.1.1

Hope that helps

Cactus
Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page February 06, 2019, 11:00:25 PM