MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Monitor not working
November 12, 2019, 04:18:06 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 12, 2019, 04:18:06 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Monitor not working  (Read 1626 times)
ChickenFunk
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: February 17, 2010, 09:51:10 PM »

Hello everyone, my father-in-laws computer stopped working the other day. he turned it on and nothing came up on the screen. no upgrades, not moved or anything. we probably tried booting it 10 times and it worked once. my guess was that it was the video card, but we pulled that out and plugged into the motherboard video and it doesn't work. we pulled the hard drive out, plugged it into my computer and it works fine.  I dont know all the specifics of the computer, but I will tell you what i can. it is a Gateway GT5232E. AMD Athlon 64 X2 processor 4200X. I am not able to check any system info because nothing comes up on the screen at all.
Logged
daveb07
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 5



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2010, 09:43:27 AM »

You could try reconnecting the source to the hard drive, cd-rom.... Use your ear to check if the hard drive is working.
The videocard could also generate some problems. Make sure it is well in place.
Logged
Cactus
Security & Virus Specialist
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +2/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4327


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2010, 02:23:17 AM »

Easiest way to test it would be too plug it into another PC or Laptop
If your switching to on-board video make sure it's set to onboard in the BIOS
When you boot the PC press the DEL button
Just tap it till the BIOS screen pops up


Logged

**PLEASE**.....do not post your hijack log in someone else's thread. Start a separate thread HERE! Thank you.

cactus@mytechsupport.ca

My System Specs

Avg Antivirus::Ad-Aware::Spybot::Windows Update::Recuva
Malwarebytes::SUPERAntiSpywareFREE
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page May 03, 2018, 11:24:26 PM