MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Internet & Email arrow Topic: Wireless modem?
July 23, 2018, 06:29:49 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 23, 2018, 06:29:49 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites: de.harddriveparts.com |
News
New  We now offer MyTechSupport.ca Merchandise! Every purchase goes towards maintaining our site.
Thank you for supporting MyTechSupport.ca!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Wireless modem?  (Read 1636 times)
hitech
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 20, 2010, 07:54:02 AM »

How to increase the receiving rang of external wireless modem?
Logged

Bluebeep
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2010, 02:24:36 PM »

I don't know what you mean by 'external', but increasing range of any access point means increasing the power output. If it's not a commercial grade product you won't be able to do it (though I've heard of some linksys firmware hacks).

Here are a few things you can try though...

- Use the 'Wireless N' standard if both your adapter and access point support it.
- Place the wireless device closer or at the proper angle. Wireless broadcast is normally donut shaped around the transmitting device.
- Reduce blockages. The more walls between you and the device the weaker the signal.
- Change the antennas. There might be 'hi-gain' antennas you can buy for your product.

As you can see, this can quickly turn into an art.

Smiley
Logged
richellemedina
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 09:04:04 PM »

I have always used the Internet to connect to a wireless modem for my computer. Always i get amazing speed. Wireless modem is a sort of modem to a wireless network rather than the phone system.

Logged

 *Link Removed*
chiggiwiggy
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2011, 05:54:50 AM »

Try resetting the post
Logged
samsonna1
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2011, 08:49:32 PM »

thank you!!!
Logged
BrideLide
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +1/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 34


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2018, 12:27:10 PM »

why not just use the modem they give you and run it through your own router?
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 18, 2018, 05:24:49 PM