MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Networking Problems arrow Topic: port forwarding!
December 08, 2019, 09:54:17 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 08, 2019, 09:54:17 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: port forwarding!  (Read 959 times)
beeblicon
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: October 16, 2010, 05:47:32 PM »

Hello all, Not sure if this is the right place but here goes

Im running ubuntu and i wanna host a mud (multi user dungeon, a text based online game for anyone that doesnt know). Anyways i have the game up and running on my localmachine on port 4000. I can telnet to localhost.com 4000 and it runs perfectly. So now im attempting to set up port forwarding so i can have my friends log in, however i've never done it before and cant seem to get it to work!.

heres what im trying. My static internal ip is 192.168.254.1, my external ip is 173.183.79.195. My router is a gigaset se567. (my game runs on localhost 4000)

if you google the gigaset se567 theres websites that tell you how to set your router up, i tried following them

so i selected port forwarding for tcp, and ports being 4000. ip address being 192.168.254.1

and nothing.....i've tried a few things, i just cant seem to get it to work, any help will be greatly appreciated!
Logged
Bluebeep
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2010, 03:04:37 PM »

Hi beeblicon,

Here are a couple of things you can try...

- Add a UDP forward to the same port as well. Some real time multi-user servers need fast reaction and they do it by using UDP.
- Ensure that your routers LAN address is set as your default gateway in your server network settings.

Have you tested to see if you can connect to the server from another machine within the LAN? If so, what happened?
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page December 04, 2019, 03:28:55 PM