MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Unable to boot
December 11, 2019, 01:04:18 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 11, 2019, 01:04:18 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Unable to boot  (Read 764 times)
Ralfa68
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: June 08, 2003, 05:41:50 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:WinXP home edition
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Dell 8100 1.7GHz P4, 512mb pc800 RDRAM
Error Messages:



First of all thanks for the great site.  I have referenced as many other posts with a similar problem, tried the fixes, but now I'm stuck.

Some background:  Wanted to check on the components, so I removed the PS from computer, and cleaned out the dust inside.  Pulled a stick of RAM to see what manufacturer, and replaced it.  Went right in, seated well.  Then pulled what appeared to be "dummy ram"?  something from DELL in the otherwise empty ram slots, and replaced it as well.  I checked all connections, closed the case, re-plugged the PS, and wholla...nothing.

Problem:  Computer powers on, HD & CD spin up.  All fans (inc Vid Card) work.  Monitor immediately drops to Hybernate(checked monitor and it is fine) Keyboard does not work, so I cant do any type of Boot that requires a key to be held down.  One thing I did notice is that the little yellow light( near the battery ) turned off when system had PS removed.  I dont know what signifigance that might be.

This is driving me nuts, as I have checked the seating of everything.  Never had a problem with anything until today.


EDIT:  Admin delete this post if you like.  Fixed problem, "dummy RAM" or whatever its called needed to be removed and re-seated.  Thanks for giving me a place to at least ask for help.  *cheers*
« Last Edit: June 08, 2003, 08:24:15 PM by Ralfa68 » Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2003, 01:40:12 AM »

Hi,

I am glad you resolved your problem! Grin

There is no need to remove this thread since it may help someone else one day!

Thank you for updating your thread with your solution! Smiley
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 19, 2018, 03:26:40 AM