MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: I Need help XP & harddrive isue :O)
June 04, 2020, 04:29:14 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 04, 2020, 04:29:14 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: I Need help XP & harddrive isue :O)  (Read 1741 times)
anx1910
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: June 16, 2003, 06:59:51 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:XP
Problem Application Name & Version:XP
Problem Hardware Make & Model:-
Error Messages:-



ok it goes like this :O)
i have winXP and  a 13Giga harddrive
now my problam is that i installed XP on a 2giga partison
and i cant find a way how to or move my xp without formating everything...
becouse its a system partision it wont let me make it bigger(as dumm as that is)... so someone know how to or move the windows into a new partion with out to mutch of a mess or even better makeing the valume bigger?

thnx a milon if some one can help

yours,

ben.

Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2003, 01:42:37 PM »

Hi,

The only way to resize a system partition is to use a partition utility like Partition Magic.

http://www.powerquest.com/partitionmagic/pmdetails.cfm
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
anx1910
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2003, 06:38:27 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Admin

Hi,

The only way to resize a system partition is to use a partition utility like Partition Magic.

http://www.powerquest.com/partitionmagic/pmdetails.cfm



I got a problem i read the info ...
and i kinda maid a jifi i turned my hard drive into a dynamic disk and in the progam info it sais that the drive must be in a basic drive and there is no turning back at least i cant find a way :O

so is ther a way?
i'll by the program if it will work for my prob i dont want to format :O

thanx a mil

ben.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2003, 08:02:16 PM »

Hi,

I am not aware of any way to revert back to basic disk without wiping the drive! Sad
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
anx1910
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2003, 03:30:44 PM »

thnx :O)
i gess ill have a nice long week end formating my pc Smiley
so the next Q is how do i do it i cant format my hard drive while im on the windows, so how do i do it? :O)

i mean to turn it into basic and fix the drives into the size i want i only know how to do it when im on windows :O
thnx a mill for all your help ,all wize one :O)
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2003, 12:34:22 PM »

Hi,

Boot off the Windows XP installation cd and during setup remove all partitions on your hard drive and recreate them, this time set partition size as desired. When setup has completed, go to "Disk Management" to verify the drive is indeed "Basic", which it should be.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
anx1910
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2003, 07:51:06 PM »

grrr and things get complicated :O)
i formated both my hard drives and instaled the XP on my one hard drive(the master one) and the other on i just reconected to my pc now he does not recognize it and when i conect it it dosnt resognize my other hard drive so there isnt no hard drive avalible.

well now i disconected that drive and everything is working with out it but i miss it Tongue the other drive works on a difrent pc...
do u have eny id?

that u so mutch and i hope im not driveing u crazy with all my Qs :O)

yours trully Wink
ben.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2003, 08:18:58 PM »

Hi,

If both drives are on the same ribbon cable, your boot drive should be set to master and the other to slave. This can be done by changing the small plastic jumper either at the back of the drive or under it. There should be instructions on which pegs to put the jumper on on the drive's label.

The reason it doesn't work is because both drives are set as master!
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
anx1910
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 23


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: June 20, 2003, 02:11:50 PM »

All Is  good now :O)
the problem wasnt master slave related Tongue
in the end it was that the boot went to the enpty drive so it didnt find nothing so i set it up so it will read from the other drive now it works

thanx for all your help

ben.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: June 20, 2003, 04:09:20 PM »

Hi,

Glad to hear you got it working! Grin
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 28, 2017, 03:20:23 AM