MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Can't enter BIOS
December 08, 2019, 07:26:36 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 08, 2019, 07:26:36 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Can't enter BIOS  (Read 998 times)
GaryW
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 01, 2003, 08:33:56 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:98SE (on old h/drive)
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Compaq deskpro model CP2000 (I think)
Error Messages:


I can't enter bios during startup. I changed hard drives and now I get "Non-system disk or disk error  replace and strike any key when ready" The F10 key did not enter setup with old hard drive either. I tried to clear CMOS with the jumper but still has disk error.Huh?
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2003, 03:02:00 PM »

Hi,

Does a small flashing cursor appear near the top right hand corner of the screen at any point during power up? This is when you should hit F10. Maybe insert a bootable floppy so the error doesn't appear and keep hitting F10 from the moment the system is powered on.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
GaryW
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2003, 06:43:45 PM »

Sorry I did not respond earlier - been busy, forgot.
There was no cursor at top right, only top left of screen. Pressing F10 many time during start up just produced a lot of beeps.
The cure was to use FDISK to set an active partition. PC is up and running now. Thanks for your help.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 26, 2018, 02:40:44 PM