MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: format harddrive?
November 18, 2019, 12:39:30 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 18, 2019, 12:39:30 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: format harddrive?  (Read 997 times)
favorite_weapon
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 04, 2003, 06:30:19 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: winXP
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



hello.  i recently installed windows xp on a harddrive that had winME on it.  a few problems occurred and i am wondering if i need to format the harddrive and install xp again.
problems:
processor is clocked at 1.1 (it should be 1.Cool
warcraft3 does not work after installation (i did not uninstall it before installing winXP)

so...if you can help...that would be great.  thanks. Cheesy
Logged

.: PLEASE HELP :.
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2003, 03:32:13 PM »

Hi,

A WinXP installation should not change a BIOS setting for CPU clocking. Check your BIOS setup to see if you can change back.

Again, did you try patching Warcraft? Maybe there is a fix! http://www.blizzard.com/support/?id=mwr0642p
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
favorite_weapon
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2003, 02:23:41 PM »

;)thanks for the suggestions...off to try them right now...also, apparently the idiot who installed WinXP did not convert file system to NTFS...Sad...is there another way to do this other than during the setup procedure?  help is appreciated...thanks!
Logged

.: PLEASE HELP :.
favorite_weapon
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2003, 02:30:23 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Admin


Again, did you try patching Warcraft? Maybe there is a fix! http://www.blizzard.com/support/?id=mwr0642p


no go...they don't have patch up for 1.10...thanks though...didn't even think of it myself...i e-mailed blizzard.  thanks for the help on that one...still need help on the NTFS issue though Sad thanks again!
Logged

.: PLEASE HELP :.
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2003, 07:14:39 PM »

Hi,

--------------------------------------------------------------------
Code:
Converts FAT volumes to NTFS.

CONVERT volume /FS:NTFS [/V] [/CvtArea:filename] [/NoSecurity] [/X]

  volume      Specifies the drive letter (followed by a colon),
              mount point, or volume name.
  /FS:NTFS    Specifies that the volume is to be converted to NTFS.
  /V          Specifies that Convert should be run in verbose mode.
  /CvtArea:filename
              Specifies a contiguous file in the root directory to be
              the place holder for NTFS system files.
  /NoSecurity Specifies the converted files and directories security
              settings to be accessible by everyone.
  /X          Forces the volume to dismount first if necessary.
              All opened handles to the volume would then be invalid.
--------------------------------------------------------------------

1. Start > Run
2. Type 'cmd' (no quotes) then OK
This will open a DOS window
3. Type 'CONVERT C: /FS:NTFS' <ENTER> (no quotes)
4. Repeat step 3 for each drive letter
5. Reboot
6. The convertion will take place during bootup.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page January 19, 2018, 09:38:08 AM