MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Ram not accepted to capacity by windows
December 13, 2019, 10:28:29 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 13, 2019, 10:28:29 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Got pics of your modded PC or want to show off your cool desktop, visit our new Show & Tell forum!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Ram not accepted to capacity by windows  (Read 1023 times)
rimmet
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 04, 2003, 07:49:32 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:windowsxp pro
Problem Application Name & Version:windows xp pro
Problem Hardware Make & Model:ram
Error Messages:n/a



Hi

I have just put 2 128mb 133 ram into my motherboard and my pc has booted up fine but when I go onto the system section of the control pannel it says it has only 192mb of ram where it should be 256mb. A friend told me something about a limiter set by windows which can be adjusted.

can anybody shead any light on the problem, if so my email address is

tom.rimmer@btopenworld.com


thanks for your time
Tom
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2003, 03:37:25 PM »

Hi,

WinXP should 'see' all the 256mb of memory.

Do you have an integrated video card? They sometimes share system memory. Go into you BIOS setup (<DEL> key on most system during power up) to see if the onboard video card is set to use 64mb of system memory.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
ChrisTechUK
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 19


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2003, 01:32:11 PM »

Yep, thats your problem. The shared memory is 64MB, check like mentioned and you will find that you are using all the memory. Windows 98,ME do however have a limit of 768MB of RAM.

~Chris Grin
Logged

"What do you mean I put the fan on backwards?"
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 22, 2017, 05:08:27 PM