MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Set-up Problems
November 21, 2019, 03:56:14 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 21, 2019, 03:56:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: Set-up Problems  (Read 2474 times)
Jim
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 07, 2003, 08:08:53 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:I recently purchased an Iwill bd100plus Motherboard, Pentium II slot 1 processor, a new case and power supply on eBay, and have put it together with my exhisting hard drive, CD drives and monitor.  When I try to start it up, the light on the monterboard goes on, i can hear the floppy and CD drives working as well as the hard drive, but nothing appears on the monitor.  I am probably overlooking something really simple, but I have no idea what the problem could be.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

« Last Edit: July 07, 2003, 08:24:30 PM by Jim » Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2003, 04:52:51 PM »

Hi,

To Troubleshoot:

- Remove all non essential cards (e.g. modems, sound cards....)
- Disconnect all ribbon cables at motherboard end
- Make sure memory, CPU and CPU fan are well seated.
- Make sure nothing is shorting out under the motherboard

Do you get a display during power up after doing this?

Also, does this motherboard have an onboard video card? Are you using an add-on video card?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Jim
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2003, 07:34:25 PM »

the motherboard does not have an onboard video card.  I am using an old video card.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2003, 07:58:35 PM »

Hi,

Did you try the other things I mentioned above?

Do you have another video you can try?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Jim
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2003, 08:25:06 PM »

I am at work and have not yet had the chance to try the other things you suggested as of yet.  I just picked up a video card today on eBay, and should have it in a couple of days.  I am thinking that that is probably the problem, but I will try the other things you suggested.  Also, I noted in your first response that you said to check that the CPU fan is well seated.  I only have a heatsink.  Could that be causing the problem?   Thanks
« Last Edit: July 08, 2003, 08:31:58 PM by Jim » Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2003, 12:38:12 PM »

Hi,

A CPU fan that is not well attached usually causes system lockups. Since I suggested you check that the CPU is well seated (which relates to your problem), it is also important to make sure the CPU fan is well attached for other reasons. Once you get your system up and running, if you find the system locks up or reboots out of nowhere, buy and install a CPU fan. Ideally you should have one.

Let me know if anything I suggested above allows your system to boot or if the new video card does the trick.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Jim
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2003, 01:42:41 PM »

The new video card did not have any affect, so I took everything apart and reassembled it, and now I have some progress.  The problem I am running into now, is that my floppy drive and my  CD drives are not being recognized.  When starting up, it definitely sees the CD drives as secondary master and slave, but then they are not there once Windows 98 opens up.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2003, 03:27:16 PM »

Hi,

Does Device Manager have any devices with a yellow dot with exclamation mark?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Jim
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2003, 05:06:48 PM »

Yes,the device manager has 3 items with a yellow dot.  When I first started up Windows, it found tons of new devices, pci bus, and things which I know very little about.  Can I just delete these items or do I need to find the proper drivers for them before I can solve my drive problems.  I don't know the exact items that were in conflict, since I am at work and my computer is as home.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2003, 09:15:58 PM »

Hi,

You will need to update each device with the proper drivers.

Let me know what these three devices are.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Jim
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: July 17, 2003, 04:02:50 PM »

I know that one of the devices is the sound card.  Could that be the problem?
Logged

 
Jim
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: July 18, 2003, 05:40:25 PM »

I got the CD Drives working, but now I am getting all sorts of fatal errors.  I guess I should format the hard drive and start fresh.
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 18, 2003, 06:21:05 PM »

Hi,

Before doing so, I would run a scandisk (in DOS) and a memory test to verify the memory and hard drive. Also run an up to date viruscan.

To run scandisk in DOS:
1. Shutdown to MS-DOS mode
2. type 'scandisk' <ENTER> (no quotes)
Make sure you run the surface scan to verify the physical disk for damage.

To test the memory:
Download a memory tester from "HOW TO - Test your system memory?"

To run an free online up to date viruscan:
http://housecall.trendmicro.com/
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Jim
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2003, 06:15:15 PM »

I reformatted the entire hard drive, and now am having trouble installing the operating system.  The dos either will not install, or when it does and I try to change something, I get a message wrong dos version.  When trying to install windows 95, I get an error about not enough memory, and I am constantly getting messages about Hi-mem problems.
Logged

 
Jim
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 10


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2003, 03:03:58 PM »

I finally got the dos and Windows 95 setup on my computer, but after Windows setup and tried to restart the computer, I got a message that there was not enough memory for Windows to open.  I have checked my hard drive for errors and everything checks out. I should have about 2GB worth of memory, so I don't know what the problem could be.
Logged

 
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page October 28, 2017, 07:01:03 AM