MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Application Problems arrow Topic: Word 2000 toolbar won't save changes
June 19, 2019, 01:47:09 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 19, 2019, 01:47:09 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Word 2000 toolbar won't save changes  (Read 1049 times)
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 22, 2003, 03:19:18 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: win 98 SE
Problem Application Name & Version: Office 2000 SR2
Problem Hardware Make & Model: Intel P4
Error Messages: Normal.dot wont save


Yes Hi,

I have been having some problems getting my normal.dot file to save changes in the tool bar and pull down menus. My macro security settings are off and some other DOT files used will save.

Word says that NORMAL.DOT is locked or being used by another user (BS), what goes?

Is there a way of getting NORMAL.DOT to save after menu changes?

Logged




Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2003, 03:41:42 PM »

Hi,

I believe if you rename (or delete) the normal.dot file, the next time you open Word, a new one will be created. Perhaps the existing one is corrupted is some way. You may have to do this by shutting down to MS-DOS mode if the file is locked.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Doctor Smith
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Posts: 718


Dumb questions welcomed


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2003, 03:50:01 PM »

Yes, I have tried that.

It is most strange that even as the WORD 2000 is telling me it is locked I can check the attributes and see that it is not.

I found recently after using WORD for 20 years the option to reduce the macro security settings to zero, this allowed me to use all the other external menus and toolbars that had appeared from other rograms for the first time....lol

I suppose I had better go back to the books on this one....

I'll do as you say and get back to you......Thanks   Smiley
Logged




Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2003, 03:58:21 PM »

Hi,

Found this Microsoft article which may be of interest.

WD2000: Cannot Rename Normal.dot If Word Is Your E-mail Editor
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 20, 2018, 04:49:47 PM