MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: smartmedia
November 20, 2019, 12:05:14 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 20, 2019, 12:05:14 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: smartmedia  (Read 1367 times)
sparkies
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 29, 2003, 10:25:45 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:

Embarrassed
hi guys can you help  this is my first time here so please be patient

i have just purchased a new computer it has a place for some thing called smartmedia cards what can i do with this
i have a digital camera with a smartmedia card in it will this work
i tried putting it in it and opening the drive but it does nothing
can someone help me with this prob i have the software for the camera loaded on the computer as well
i would be grateful for your help and advice Embarrassed

Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2003, 01:51:02 AM »

Hi,

It's been a while and I just got back from holidays but...

Are you still experiencing problems with this? If so, we need more info...

What version of Windows are you running?
What is the make and model of your digital camera?
What software are you using to access the smartmedia port on your PC?
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
sparkies
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2003, 12:46:12 PM »

first of all i hope everything is ok there soon

i am using windows xp already preloaded on computer by the company i bought this machine from
the camera is a fujifilm  dx-5
and i am only using the software that is with the camera which is
data transfer software sd-t7 ver 2.0
ds serial twain driver ver 1.1
snap twain driver ver 1.0

i appreciate your help and advice i havent tried it lately because i can never get it to work what else can i do with it
i know it is a lot of questions
also it is a integrated multi-flash/memeory card reader is says in the advert where i bought it says that it can read and writes all standard memory cards, memory sticks, ibm microdrive, multemedia card, compact flash, smart media card, sd card Sad
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2003, 03:40:54 PM »

Hi,

Most likely the software that came with the camera is to transfer your images from the camera (smartmedia) to the computer through some sort of cable (most likely USB).

Since the system has an integrated smartmedia slot, WinXP should reconize the smartmedia card as a removable drive. Open Windows Exlorer to see if a drive letter is assigned to the media card.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
sparkies
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2003, 09:04:45 PM »

???hi again yes win xp does recognize it as a removable drive but everytime i try to open it it says
I:\ is not accesible
the request could not be performed because of a I/O device error

hopefully this may help and let me leave you alone

thks

darren Roll Eyesricicles@btinternet.com
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2003, 01:02:26 PM »

Hi,

I am not familiar with using smartmedia as removable drives but is it possible the camera uses a different file format and therefore WinXP doesn't recognize it?

Make sure you copy your pictures to your computer using the camera's software (that works right?) and then right click the removable drive through Windows Explorer to see if there is a 'format' option and format the smartmedia.

Please Note: If this work, I do not know if the camera will still be able to use it!?!? You may want to do more research on this before!

It may also be a driver issue. What is the make and model of your computer? I will look for compatible WinXP drivers (if they exist).
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page December 30, 2018, 10:22:49 PM