MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: active x, active destkop problems
May 22, 2019, 05:31:54 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 22, 2019, 05:31:54 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: active x, active destkop problems  (Read 856 times)
ishbooisland
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 06, 2003, 07:48:36 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



Logged

 
ishbooisland
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 5


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2003, 07:54:29 PM »

woops, my bad, i pushed enter, well my problem started this morning. I started up the "family" computer and it booted up fine till i found out i coudlnt do anything. The start menu wont open, i have no background, most of our icons are gone. if i go into my computer it gives me a message saying that my active x controls porohibit something something something. I know how to solve that, so i went into safe mode (i can get into folders this way) and i went to control panel to change the security settings, when i went to the tab in internet options nothing is there, the icons are gone and there arnt any levels to adjust too, just a bar. Ive tried windows restore but that wont run, as with many programs. I have lots of important files on here and would rather not reformat. Any suggestions appreciated, the computer is a 166mhz 96 megs of ram with a 3 gig hd, and windows me. I have no idea what we or i could have done to make this happen, i ididnt install anything, the only thing i can think of is that i turned the pc off wrong the ngiht b4, but ive done that many times without any problems like this. Thanks in advance
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2003, 04:22:22 PM »

Hi,

First things I would do is test the hardware. Run a scandisk with surface scan option by booting off a WinME Startup Disk. This will check for bad sectors. Then run a memory tester (HOW TO - Test your system memory?)
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 20, 2018, 12:53:37 PM