MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: Win 98 - Win SE
May 22, 2019, 06:02:03 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 22, 2019, 06:02:03 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
Article Writers We are looking for quality, informational articles to add to our Computer Articles
Please contact us if you are interested in submitting some....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Win 98 - Win SE  (Read 1988 times)
turanski7
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 09, 2003, 04:27:54 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:



I tried to install windowa SE over windows 98 which I currently have. A message pops up and says I can't do this as I already have an operating system. All I want to do is have windows SE on my comp. Any help, please?

Logged

 
bbhagrid
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2003, 04:53:00 AM »

I am assuming you are talking about win98se ...is the se disk an upgrade disk or the full install version? also if it is the full install is format and install an option or are you just trying to upgrade and keep the things you have on your pc?
Logged

When I die, I want to die like my grandmother, who died peacefully
in her sleep.  Not screaming like all the passengers in her car.

Brian
turanski7
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2003, 12:52:49 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by bbhagrid

I am assuming you are talking about win98se ...is the se disk an upgrade disk or the full install version? also if it is the full install is format and install an option or are you just trying to upgrade and keep the things you have on your pc?



It is the full install and yes, I'm trying to upgarde
Logged

 
bbhagrid
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2003, 11:39:48 PM »

hmmm...
boot your pc and after it is done loading put the win98se disk in and it should detect a newer version of windows and ask if you want to upgrade I just upgraded mine a couple months ago that way and had no probs doing so with that same disk and all....if you have done this already and it failed post back I will check around and see what else I can come up with to help you out
Logged

When I die, I want to die like my grandmother, who died peacefully
in her sleep.  Not screaming like all the passengers in her car.

Brian
turanski7
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2003, 11:50:59 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by bbhagrid

hmmm...
boot your pc and after it is done loading put the win98se disk in and it should detect a newer version of windows and ask if you want to upgrade I just upgraded mine a couple months ago that way and had no probs doing so with that same disk and all....if you have done this already and it failed post back I will check around and see what else I can come up with to help you out



Hi. Yeah, I tried that and I still get that error message. Should I delete win98 and then install win98 se? If so, how do I do that. I am somewhat of a novice. Thanks.
Logged

 
bbhagrid
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2003, 12:15:01 AM »

ok to install 98se put your win98 startup disk in the floppy drive and reboot it will then boot to a screen with a couple different options choose "start without cdrom support" it will then boot to the floppy drive from there type without the quote marks "format c: /s" that will reformat the harddrive and transfer the bootfiles to the hard drive from there put the 98se cd in and type "e:" to get to your cdrom drive and then type "setup" again dont type the quote marks then it will begin to install win98se after it is installed you can load your drivers for any devices you have that it didnt catch and any programs you want and it will run much smoother and a bit faster than it is now due to a "likenew" comp and all the **** that was uninstalled and left pieces left behind will be gone

hope this helps
Logged

When I die, I want to die like my grandmother, who died peacefully
in her sleep.  Not screaming like all the passengers in her car.

Brian
bbhagrid
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 243


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2003, 12:17:09 AM »

I had just reformatted mine a couple days ago due to a slowdown from all the junk that was left behind and now everything runs very well;D
Logged

When I die, I want to die like my grandmother, who died peacefully
in her sleep.  Not screaming like all the passengers in her car.

Brian
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2003, 04:09:50 PM »

Hi,

If the Win98 SE cd you have is an OEM version, you will need to wipe the drive to install. Make sure the system boots off the Win98 SE CD before wiping the disk and that you have a backup of all important files.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 19, 2017, 05:22:52 PM