MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Networking Problems arrow Topic: Network slow to configure
August 25, 2019, 12:25:46 PM

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 25, 2019, 12:25:46 PM

Login with username, password and session length

News
Help us help you! Help us help you by helping out! The more people know about us, the more help will be available. Click here to find out how...
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Network slow to configure  (Read 2579 times)
Hurdy

Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 10, 2003, 10:27:52 AM »

Hi,

I recently networked 2 PCs through a router.

XP Home and Win98 SE with Netgear DG814.

I am new to networking and used the set up wizard to configure everything.

The problem is that it takes several minutes for the network to configure itself each time I switch on the PCs.

I checked the Event Viewer on The XP PC and it shows scores of errors which read :-

"Source DHCP
Type Warning
Event ID 1003

Your computer was not able to renew its address from the network (from the DHCP Server) for the Network Card with network address B61000180C01.  The following error occurred:
The operation was canceled by the user. . Your computer will continue to try and obtain an address on its own from the network address (DHCP) server."

I tried the M$ link but it said that it was an unknown error or some such thing.

When the network is finally up and running there are no problems and the internet connection is also good.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

All the best,

Hurdy

Admin
Administrator

Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2003, 07:14:03 PM »

Hi,