MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Software Support arrow Operating Systems : Microsoft arrow Topic: BAD COMMAND OR FILE NAME
September 16, 2019, 07:38:46 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 16, 2019, 07:38:46 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
12th Anniversary Celebrating 12 Years! (1997 - 2009) 12th Anniversary
Thanks to ALL that make this site what it is!
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: BAD COMMAND OR FILE NAME  (Read 908 times)
woodstock
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 6


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 20, 2003, 08:02:17 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:WINDOWS 95 OR 98 NOT SURE
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:I PURCHASED A USED COMPAQ COMPUTER FROM MY WORKPLACE FOR MY NEPHEW.  IT WORKED JUST FINE AT WORK, AND I BOOTED IT UP BEFORE I DELIVERED IT TO MY NEPHEW TO MAKE SURE IT WAS RUNNING OK AND IT WAS.  I SET IT UP AT HIS HOUSE AND IT STARTED UP AND IMMEDIATELY WENT TO A BLANK SCREEN WITH THE ERROR MESSAGE BAD COMMAND OR FILE NAME.  I'M NOT SURE IF IT IS WIN 95 OR 98 AND I DON'T KNOW HOW TO GET WHERE I CAN FIND OUT SINCE I CAN'T GET PAST THE BAD COMMAND OR FILE NAME MESSAGE. THANKS
 



Logged

 
Kevin
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 15


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2003, 11:38:52 PM »

First check is for floppy or disk in drive. If so remove and reboot. If not try tapping the f-8 key at the compaq logo. I presume you are getting that far. That should take you to a menu and you can see if it will go to dos mode. With that little c prompt you can do a lot!

Kevin
Logged

 
Admin
Administrator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +4/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 4898



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2003, 06:41:53 PM »

Hi,

Go into the BIOS and verify the system recognizes the hard drive. F10 key on most Compaqs during power up or when the cursor blinks in the top right hand corner.
Logged

Sylvain Amyot
http://www.mytechsupport.ca

If you like to concept of this site and want to help, click here to find out how.
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page November 26, 2018, 04:13:54 AM